Fancy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My husband asked me to only make these when we have guests coming over because he couldn't stop eating them! I cut the Rolos in half as suggested by another reviewer. The mix was VERY hard to spread for me - very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
These are delicious! I made them for a luncheon at my husband's office and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I thought I would love these. But thought it just too much going on in the brownie. I guess my taste preferences tend toward a simpler brownie. At the party I served them at about half the people agreed with me and the other half loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was a huge hit at the office. The toffee, choc chips, and Rolo's create a delicious gooey middle layer. The top layer of brownie batter is hard to "crumble" or spread across, so just take a big spoon and drop it down in clumps. It will spread out when it bakes and it's not a huge deal if it doesn't cover everything - I just tried to make sure I at least covered the Rolo's. I almost made my own brownie batter because I don't like to use cake mixes, but I'm glad I followed the recipe because the batter is much thicker than mine would have been. The flavor was still good. I highly recommend this. The longest part is unwrapping the Rolo's and placing them in the pan, but you will be loved when you share these and it will all be worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by nursetastic
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I love it I add a little more butter otherwise everything else I keep the same they are amazing! Make sure you don't cook them too long these are amazing when a little less than done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nursetastic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was a really good recipe and pretty easy to make. However, it was more of a cake texture than a brownie and the dough was difficult to spread. It might have been better if there was one more egg in the recipe. On the other hand, the way it is was good with fudge chocolate frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane in SoCal
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I served these warm from the oven with vanilla ice cream and everyone loved them- check out my photo. Some of the other pictures looked like their brownies were made from a different recipe! My market didn't carry toffee baking bits, so I used a Skor candy bar that I finely chopped, which worked well and added a tasty crunch. I also cut the Rolos in half as others suggested, pushing the cut side down into the dough. I have a tip for those having trouble spreading this thick dough into the pan: if you use the back of a plastic spoon or a plastic (not rubber) spatula, it doesn't stick to the dough as much. Also, cutting the brownies with a plastic knife works much better than a metal knife. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These brownies were edible, but I was a bit mislead by the pic's of them, they look like a traditional dense ooey gooey brownie, and mine turned out far from it. They were very cakey (which I should have expected considering they use a cake mix to make them!) I'm lazy and didn't feel like unwrapping 35 rolo candies, so I just bought the individual candy bar rolo's, which come all wrapped in one big foil tube, saves TONS of time!!! Also as stated by so many other's this batter is rediculous to try and spread, even with Pam on your spatula! I made these last night, and I have decided that they are a bad rip off of better than sex cake! I wont be making this again, if I want brownies I find a better recipe (like brooke's bombshell brownies) and if I want better than sex cake I'll just make that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was so good, I made it twice... in one weekend!! I say follow it exactly, don't cut back on the ingredients! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States