Fancy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
These were good, but I don't think I'd make them again because there are better recipes out there. And I hated unwrapping all of those Rolos! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe is awesome! Everyone loved it! I'm trying alternates as suggested by others i.e. caramels, kisses, etc. I personally alternate toffee bits and walnuts. I lightly sprinkled powdered sugar right before presentation. I'm making them for Christmas and packaging them up as gifts (as requested). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These brownies were awesome!!! I cut the rolos in half like the other review suggested, which worked really well. The batter is very difficult to spread, but I sprayed a spatula with Pam and it spread much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I've made this recipe about 3-4 times now, and its always a big hit. I get asked for the recipe everytime. I think the toffee chips add a lot, because you get that nice crunch when you bite into it. The only issue I run into is the dough is really sticky and hard to spread and it never seems like I have enough for the top layer, no matter how little I put on the bottom. But that doesn't really affect the taste, so it doesn't matter much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I didn't think the brownie part of this recipe was that great. I would have preferred to substitute even a boxed brownie mix then added the "extras" like rolos, toffee bits and chocolate chips. It was just ok for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
These turned out very good. It was tricky to get the top layer of brownie mix on evenly, but it seemd to spread as it cooked. I think I will omit the toffee bits next time because I don't think they added a lot to the flavor (these are very rich and chocolately) and they tended to get stuck in my teeth. Next time, I think I will spoon small portions of the dough on the top layer to make it easier to spread. I used a 10 x 10 pan and it was fine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
These are SUPER yummy! I have made these twice now and the first time was exxcelent and the second time I did...I accidently bought a bag of rolo's, reeces and kisses...I used all three candies(cut the reeces and rolos in half) and put them in the mix. It tasted soooo good! I ran out of the dough so the top layer was toffee and choc. chips. I made my own choc. cake mix(healthier. I always have to cook things longer, but I think that's just my oven. FABULOUS recipe! Chewy, gooey, super yummy and worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
If you like chewy brownies you will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
They were a little crumbly, but good. I think they would be even better with reese cups instead of rolos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
These brownies were fabulous! I made them for my friends birthday dinner and she LOVED them. They are nice and chewy, in my opinion, the perfect brownie. The only thing missing was the vanilla ice cream, then this would have been over the top delicious! I did cut the rolos in half, then they covered the entire surface of the brownie! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States