Famous Taco Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
As the recipe submitter, I wanted to comment that you can actually make this in a big batch and store it for an extended period of time. Also, although I edited the recipe after submitting it, I found that using only 1 Tbsp of flour is much better than 2. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Great! I have used other homemade mixes, but this one has a great flavor. I omitted the cayenne pepper (my family doesn't like it hot) and decreased the salt by half. Also, as the submitter suggested, I cut the flour in half as well. I usually make a big batch so I don't have to start from scratch every time and this one lends itself well for that. I used a cup of water mixed into the beef and seasoning mix and it turned out just right. Not too runny and not too thick. Will definately make this my usual mix! Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is very good. I used it to make a taco soup and it turned out perfect. I don't know how tacos turn out but the soup was 5 stars. Thanks Kel for a great recipe! UPDATE 6-25-12 This made great tacos. I used 2 T flour as called for but it probably could have used less as the submitter suggests in her review. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This got great reviews so I wanted to try it. It was okay but I missed having cumin in it. Cumin adds such a delicious flavor and this needs about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
try this with corn flour (masa)... I have used this recipe for a long time and it is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My husband said, "Don't take this the wrong way, but don't make this the other way anymore." I was expecting to hear something else by the way he started off. He really like the new taco seasoning. YAY!!! I did have some changes, but the basic recipe was followed. 1 tbsp flour 1 tsp chili powder 1 1/2 tsp dried minced onion (no paprika, not on my shelf) :( 1 beef bouillon cube 1/4 tsp sugar 1/4 tsp cayenne 1/2 tsp jarred minced garlic (no powder on my shelf) (no onion powder, again didn't have any) ***ordinarily I may have ensured I had those items but I also thought I had taco seasoning on hand. As it was I had everything else done, attempted to add the seasoning to find that it wasn't there. ACK! Thank goodness for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I will NEVER buy premade taco seasoning again! This is so easy, and I usually have all of these things in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used equal amounts Better than Bouillion creamy beef "base" instead of part of a beef bouillion cube, omitted the salt (as the beef base was quite salty on it's own) and I doubled the garlic powder. I used this to make "salsa chicken" which is basically chicken breast, salsa and taco seasoning left to cook in the crockpot on low all day. This worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Followed to a "T" and we loved it! This is my new taco seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe was great. I halved the flour as suggested and added a teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Taco Seasoning I

See how to make your own five-star taco-seasoning mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States