Famous Restaurant Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I made this for a party and it was a big hit! It tastes sooo good and is very addicting! It makes A LOT of dip, though. Tastes good re-heated the next day....and the next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This truly does taste just like a favorite restaurant's recipe that I have been trying to duplicate for years. I'm embarrassed that is was so easy and I couldn't nail it! I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just a side dish for 4 - wished I would have made the full recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is so much better than the stuff from a jar. It's worth the effort to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was outstanding! I didn't need the 5lb version so I recalculated for 12 servings which requires 1 2lb loaf of velveeta. The only thing I did differently was substitute some hot salsa for the water. I only added 1/2 C of water and it still turned out a tad runny, but was absolutely excellent!!! I also added some extra jalapenos for a spicy kick and I have to say this will definitely be the recipe I use from now on for queso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Ok I thought the celery would be weird and the fresh jalapeño would be too spicy for kiddos BUT! this is SO good! You MUST add fresh salsa tho, not the slimy jar but the kind you find in the produce/deli section. And can I just throw some shade on Velveeta cheese "food"? Lol. C'mon, don't go thru all this trouble and then make your kids eat that. Melt a stick of butter, gradually whisk/stir 1/2 c flour for a few minutes, gradually add maybe 3 c chicken broth, keep stirring. When smooth gradually add whatever cheese you have. Today I used some sliced cheese, 3 pckgs that had been in freezer long enough to get burn. But now it's queso dip and very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This is so easy to make! I made is with the Velveeta "Queso Blanche." My family said it's even better than restaurant cheese dip. I did use 2 jalepenos and would consider using 3 or even 4 to spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
this was a good recipe but i used white american cheese a lot creamier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very good and easy. I do not have a double boiler, so I just melted the heat the regular way over the stove in a pot. I also added a good bit of ground cayenne (red) pepper to the dip. That added much more flavor and a little spice, but really wasn't very spicy. Needs a little more flavor somehow though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I scaled down the recipe to 10 servings for our family of 4 for New Year's Eve. I used a saucepan on low heat and it melted fine. The queso was a little bland for us, so I added 1/2 cup of medium salsa. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States