Famous Restaurant Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This truly does taste just like a favorite restaurant's recipe that I have been trying to duplicate for years. I'm embarrassed that is was so easy and I couldn't nail it! I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just a side dish for 4 - wished I would have made the full recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
this was a good recipe but i used white american cheese a lot creamier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I made this for a party and it was a big hit! It tastes sooo good and is very addicting! It makes A LOT of dip, though. Tastes good re-heated the next day....and the next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Authentic and yummy! I wouldn't call it "hot" though. For those who like it hot my "cheater" version is easy - simply add a few tbsp of med. salsa to the cheese of your choice ( I use Velvetta + sour cream)a can of sliced jalepenos (don't remove seeds!)and a squirt of real lime juice. We also like sliced olives - hot and chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very good and easy. I do not have a double boiler, so I just melted the heat the regular way over the stove in a pot. I also added a good bit of ground cayenne (red) pepper to the dip. That added much more flavor and a little spice, but really wasn't very spicy. Needs a little more flavor somehow though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is so much better than the stuff from a jar. It's worth the effort to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Made according to the recipe, and was fairly disappointed. This is very bland and was overly thick. The amount of vegetables called for didn't really contribute anything. I did scale the recipe back serving-wise to use 1 lb of cheese, but proportionally, that shouldn't have mattered. I think this might be a good start, maybe add in some queso fresca or similar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I scaled down the recipe to 10 servings for our family of 4 for New Year's Eve. I used a saucepan on low heat and it melted fine. The queso was a little bland for us, so I added 1/2 cup of medium salsa. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Was not like any queso I've ever tasted in a restaurant . . . it would soon be out of business with a dip like this. Very disappointed. The celery added a weird taste and I missed the tomatoes. Keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was outstanding! I didn't need the 5lb version so I recalculated for 12 servings which requires 1 2lb loaf of velveeta. The only thing I did differently was substitute some hot salsa for the water. I only added 1/2 C of water and it still turned out a tad runny, but was absolutely excellent!!! I also added some extra jalapenos for a spicy kick and I have to say this will definitely be the recipe I use from now on for queso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States