Famous Restaurant Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
waaaaay TOO cream cheesy........not REAL italian alfredo. That can NOT be the olive garden recipe. I know for a fact they use real garlic and parmesan. Try this- it's MUCH closer..... 1 pint heavy cream, (1/2 and 1/2 is good too) 1/2 cup real butter, 2 tblsp. cream cheese, 3/4 cup of shredded parmesan, 1 large or 2 small cloves garlic chopped. Simmer all ing. (except parmesan) on LOW for atleast 20 minutes (stir occasionally) - add parmesan last, melt completely, then season to taste with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
uhm~??~ regarding the last comment posted... this must be Fazzoli's recipe. My Husband is a Director of Operations for the O.G. restaurants and I can assure you although this is a good recipe.. this is not there's. It's missing a few very important ingredients like for starters PARMESAN CHEESE and the OG's would be hard to 'exactly' duplicate as they have a few secret ingredients (sorry) .. and no cream cheese @ all... I was looking for a lighter sauce that is not as heavy .. and this was good but I did add Parmesan and no garlic 'salt'.. just a lot of fresh garlic and it was good. .. and quick.. thnks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Disgusting! I have no idea how so many people rated this so highly! I decreased the cream cheese to 1/2 cup and used heavy cream instead of half and half but it still tasted SWEET and overpoweringly of cream cheese! When I think of Alfredo sauce, I think garlicy, not sweet! I couldn't eat this and add to add A LOT of spices and crushed red pepper just to make it somewhat edible for my husband. My husband said that the "restaurant" this recipe came from must have gone out of business if the rest of the food was this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I use this recipe and found very fast and easy. I did add a few of my own touches such as sauted garlic and onions; parmesan cheese and real lemon zest and fresh ground pepper and touch of white wine. The next time I will try fresh ground nutmeg. I will never by store bought again. This also works with 2% Milk just added a little more butter and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOHNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This is very rich sauce. I would recommend that you only use 1/2 cup of cream cheese. Consistantly stir this sauce, I found it to get lumpy. It also needs more flavor.I will try another sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I thought this sauce was very authentic and yummy! It seemed a little rich, so I added a little more half & half, then it was perfect sauce. Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer O'Brien Sivesind

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was a good start. I added 1 cup of parmesean cheese and upped the half and half to a cup and cut the cream cheese to 1/2 cup. A little fresh garlic and this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This is wonderful! Tastes just like real alfredo sauce and is nice and creamy. I made extra and put it in the freezer--was easy to thaw and toss with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Great sauce! I made the recipe for 6 (still only 12 oz pasta). I whipped the sauce together in my Kitchen Aid mixer first. Next time I plan to melt the butter (I used margarine) and then cream it with the cream cheese (I used Fat Free, turned out GREAT!) before adding the half and half and the spices. I used an 8 oz block of cream cheese and 1.25 cups of half and half. For the other people that said the flavor was too mild, they just need to add more seasonings. I just kept adding more lemon pepper and garlic until it was tangy and yummy. After cooking the sauce and the pasta, I mixed it all together and left it for a few minutes to soak up the flavor. YUMMY! Will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This was absolutely wonderful!! My super picky 4 yr old loved it, and so it's a keeper. I made sure to use the double broiler, and was able to melt the cream cheese all the way - that was the key to keep it from getting lumpy. I used milk insead of half and half, and the consistancy was good. To get the flavor, you need to add the galric and lemon pepper to YOUR taste. Just keep adding a dash until the flavor suits you. I also added 3 TBS of fresh grated parmesan cheese, and my DH and I thought it added a lot. This will be someting we make consistantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States