Famous Restaurant Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Disgusting! I have no idea how so many people rated this so highly! I decreased the cream cheese to 1/2 cup and used heavy cream instead of half and half but it still tasted SWEET and overpoweringly of cream cheese! When I think of Alfredo sauce, I think garlicy, not sweet! I couldn't eat this and add to add A LOT of spices and crushed red pepper just to make it somewhat edible for my husband. My husband said that the "restaurant" this recipe came from must have gone out of business if the rest of the food was this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I used this recipe for a banquet and got asked for the recipe! I had added meatballs to it also, it was wonderful! My advice, keep the half and half, it won't seperate as easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
We weren't too thrilled with this. Even after adding parmesan cheese, it was still sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERS98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Wow, this sauce is so easy and delicious. I used milk instead of half and half and it still came out very creamy and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I loved it! I couldn't believe how fast it was to make and I didn't have to chop up garlic or add a ton of parmesean! I trimmed some of the fat by cutting the quantities in half and diluting the half and half with milk. The concept was there and the cream cheese tasted great in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this for dinner last night...we LOVED it! Even my pickiest eaters wanted seconds. I made mine with 1% milk, since that was what I had, and it still turned out great. I cooked it in a double boiler. It takes a little longer to cook this way, but I think it made it creamier. I just started the sauce before I started the pasta and they were both done at the same time. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Very simple and delicious. I would definitely use it again as a sauce for any creamy pasta dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I have been searching for a good alfredo sauce recipe (for my boyfriend who loves fettuccine alfredo) and I have definitely found a winner with this one. The flavor was excellent! The only reservation my incredibly picky boyfriend had was that the cream cheese stayed slightly lumpy (I didn't even really notice!). I think next time I will use a double boiler to melt it down slower. I paired this meal with some homemade focaccia bread and a bottle of red wine. Overall, this recipe is nothing short of outstanding - not to mention so quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I thought this sauce was too "cream cheesy" tasting, so I added a whole, raw clove of garlic into it for a few minutes and it turned out wonderfully! It added a great garlic flavor and cut down on the cream cheese taste. Next time I make this I will add roasted garlic and sundried tomatoes. Did I mention, that I fished out the garlic before I served the pasta?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was great!! I used Skim Plus milk instead of half and half and it still came out great!! Quick, Easy and not as fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States