Famous Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kaitlyn
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I actually used red potatoes and just sprinkled the garlic salt over the top so it still gives it some flavor but not over the top. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Loved these potatoes, but definitely made a few changes. I cooked the potatoes about 15 min. longer so they would soften up and I used half a package of Kraft American cheese with 1cup of shredded mild cheddar cheese. My husband and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I didn't like this recipe very much at all. For the potatoes, I used 6 Russets (I think they were); I didn't peel them (the recipe didn't specify either way) - I just scrubbed and cubed them. This was also one of the rare occasions when I use "American pasteurized process cheese spread" (generic Velveeta). The cooking time of 45 minutes was not nearly enough; at that point, most of the potato cubes were still hard, and a lot more time was needed. After that, the taste was okay, but I thought there was too much salt, plus I would've liked more cheese. Still, I should add that this was best the night I made it; the quality of reheated leftovers was much diminished. Sorry, I wasn't very impressed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
exceptional! easy, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
used some leftover baked potatoes I had in the fridge for this recipe. It turned out great. I cut potatoes in to chunks after removing the skin, and followed the rest of the directions, only placed mine in the microwave until heated through and WOW! A great way to use leftover baked potatoes! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Oh, so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by See2Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
My family loved these, but I didn't care as much for the cheese as I thought I would. I will make them again..Because my family loved them so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Easy to prepare and liked by all 3 of my children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
These potatoes were ok, but I wouldn't make them again. The taste does not justify the calories. If you do try make them, make sure you cut the potatoes into SMALL cubes, and watch how much butter you add. I thought it would have been better with less, as they would have browned better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
my grandson the picky eater enjoyed this so much he had a second helping. he never eats anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States