Famous Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I use this same recipe(minus the lemon juice for my sweet and sour sauce, but pour it over meatballs that I make that have a small amt of ginger in them to give a unique taste. I have had the same results, in Dec when we are invited to many parties where we are to take dishes, my husband and I make hundreds of meatballs and freeze them. Then we just bake the amt we need, put them in the crock pot w/ the sauce and we're good to go. The crock pot is practically licked clean!!!Thanks for your eaiser version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
SOOO good! I love that this recipes gets its "tang" from the pineapple and lemon rather than vinegar. So easy too! Just what I was looking for! It would be good with chicken as well. I also used freeze dried green peppers from my home grocery store so I am ready to make this meal anytime with simple ingredients I always have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I liked this recipe but have a few comments on amounts listed. My store does not carry 13.25 ounce cans of pineapple chunks. I used the 20 ounce size but kept all the other sauce ingredients as written. It worked great for me. Using a smaller can of pineapple would result in less sauce since you are depending on the juice from the can so I would opt for the larger can. I would also make sure not to use an Italian frozen meatball. I don't think the flavors would meld with this at all. I used Aidells Chicken Meatballs in the Teriyaki & Pineapple flavor that I get at Costco which come in a 2.25 lb package. These were absolutely the perfect meatball for this recipe if you can find them. I also subbed an orange bell since it is what I had on hand. I think using different colors would make for a nice presentation. Very good! Oh, and make sure to use fresh lemon juice, even though it isn't called out. It's got to be fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
EVERYONE at my sons' grad party LOVED these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Rayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was a hit! We are not bell pepper fans, so we kept those out! Will be a regular on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I think it needed spiced up some so the next time I make it I will be adding red pepper flakes for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and they were a hit. My family loved them. Even the hard to please 5 year old asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Naumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Very good flavor but toward the end I had to make another batch of the sauce and add that because it just needed more to coat the meatballs for more flavor. Also, first batch I used pineapple in 100% juice and the 2nd batch with pineapple in heavy syrup and that tasted better. (Used 20 oz cans each time) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is excellent!! I use a 20oz can of pineapple chunks with about 1.75 lb of frozen gluten-free meatballs then add a bag of frozen stir-fry blend veggies. So delicious!! I have made this twice in the last month because my fiance and I both love it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States