Famous Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Great sauce - simple, delish, and made entirely with things already on hand! Made for a party and not only were they gone in no time, practically everyone asked for the recipe. Only change I made was in the amount of pineapple-used an entire 20oz can. In juice by the way, not syrup as others have suggested. With the sugar I figured it would be sweet enough - it was just right. Regarding the amount of sauce...I made these as an appetizer and was just looking for the meatballs to be glazed. For my purposes, the amount was perfect. However, if you're looking to serve the meatballs over rice and would like sauce to cover rice as well, you'll probably want to double the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I don't usually like to alter a recipe too much the first time I make it, much less rate it (It doesn't seem fair to rate the recipe after I've changed it a bunch), but this time I felt like I had to. My local store didn't carry 3 lb bags of meatballs, but only 2 lb. I read other reviews that said there wouldn't be enough sauce, but I figured having a smaller bag of meatballs it'd be ok. It wasn't. I ended up doubling the sauce recipe. I was out of pineapple, so I drained a can of mandarin oranges and used that juice for the second batch of sauce. It was very, very tasty. Next time I'll start off with two cans of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Very delicious and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Excellent as is. Its a must!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was an amazing dish. We loved it. We are always eating salty or spicy food. It was a great change for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was fantastic! We used frozen pineapple of which I weighed out 20 oz and added 1/2 cup of water. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. We also used the Aidell's chicken meatballs from Costco. For more color, I agree with another reviewer about using red and green bell peppers. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Van80
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I added my own personal touches to this. I did not use frozen meatballs. Meatballs were baked in the oven and then placed in the slow cooker with the pineapple sauce for 4 hours..it was amazing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Van80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very very good flavor! This is how sweet-and-sour should taste, in my opinion, vs the oversweet overprocessed red sauce so many try to pass off as sweet-and-sour. Be sure not to buy the Italian-seasoned meatballs, as I think they wouldn't work well here. I cut the green pepper in squares, like my old favorite Cantonese restaurant used to do. Otherwise I made no changes. I bet this would work well with chicken or pork also. The next time I make this though, I will 1.5 or 2x the amount of sauce. Very very good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
What a hit. I used a whole Green pepper, two small cans of pineapple chunks and one small of crushed (opened by accident, lol). Next time I plan to try fresh pineapple. I mixed some frozen Italian style and traditional meatballs in the slow cooker, about 4lbs worth. Note it takes a long time to cook from frozen, so allow an extra 30-60min if cooking them from frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Agree with using 2 cans of pineapple chunks to have more sauce. I also added ~1/3 cup of white vinegar and it was fantastic! Without it, the sauce is too sweet and the vinegar made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States