Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe gets four stars only because it does seem to call for quite a bit of personal tweaking based on individual taste. However, the ingredients are just what you need to achieve that special Ginger dressing found in most sushi restaurants. So, instead of tweaking batch after batch to reach your intended flavor, just keep close and coarsley chop each of the ingredients so they're readily available to toss into your blender as needed. And besides, I'm sure many of you true asian cuisine cooks know how little we ever measure ingredients!! To further explain: Ginger-(Best fresh from root or even the pickled kind--NOT powdered, it can add a bitter taste and ruin that light salmon color) Peanut Oil-(NOT olive oil NOR sesame oil. Tried both to frightening results. The peanut oil is key! It's what makes the creamy taste and texture) Celery-(only fresh, and don't be afraid of adding more--it gives the dressing that fresh, crisp taste) Onion and Garlic-(NO powdered stuff either, this is where you can add a little bit at a time to your blender it can indeed over power your dressing) Salt/Soy sauce-Use either, but I prefer Fish sauce as it doesn't ruin the color and since it's saltier it only requires a small amount) The Ketchup-(I just recommend a bit of fresh tomato--using ketchup can also add a funnyl, stale taste) The lemon juice & rice wine vinegar-(use the real stuff--it's not that expensive and both are versatile in lots of dishes) The Pepper & Sugar-(Didn't feel the nee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
649 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This particular recipe was the closest thing to the recipie I like at my favorite sushi restaurant. Some changes I would make would be to use olive oil instead of the peanut oil. The nutty flavor overpowers the fresh ginger flavor I'm used to. I reduced the vinegar 1/2 cup and then added water to the 1/3 cup line. I added 1 stalk of celery instead of the suggested 2T. I also added and additional tsp. of sugar and omitted the pepper. The dressing at jap. restraunts seem to have alot of texture so I added 1 1/2 carrots in the blender and it came out perfect. It took 3 trys but now I make it for all my family and friends, we LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This salad dressing is THE BOMB! We love it and my guests love it too! I have to give out the recipe. I substitute 1/4 C. of chicken broth for half the oil and replace half of the oil with sesame oil. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Very good. I used Rice Vinegar instead of Rice Wine Vinegar (same??) and I used jarred minced ginger, but it turned out very well. Thanks to the reviewer who said not to waste time chopping. I threw in chunks of onion and whole garlic cloves - no problem. Next time I'll use 1/2 sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
NICE EASY DRESSING...... USED POWDERED GINGER AND GARLIC SO EASY WILL DO AGAIN AND AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
A fine tasting dressing. The flavors are much better once it has sat in the fridge for a few hours. I added some sesame oil as well, and found it to give the dressing a "deeper" flavor. I wish I had seen the review that told us to not bother chopping (mincing) the ingredients! Why bother when we are blending it all?! I made a chicken and salad dish, and not only used the dressing on the salad, but I drizzled it on the meat too. My husband loved it! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
great recipe !! we've had this several times, I usually just use olive or vegetable oil, and it always turns out great !! really good on an asian coleslaw type salad !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
I did not like the dressing and it did not taste anything like the one that is served in Japanese Restaurants. Too much oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Delicious!!! Used the suggested 1T ketchup, added 1/2 tsp sesame oil, and didn't have minced celery on me. Still delicious...just like the real thing. Will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
A good dressing, an even better marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States