Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
The first time I made it, it had a strong vinager taste. After I let it sit and some of the oil and vinager settled into the bottom... it tasted better. I find that this recipe tastes better if it is allowed to sit for a few hours before serving. Regardless it satisfied the craving I had for a Japanese dressing without having to go out to eat or waiting forever and a day. This is really good and taste so much like the Japanese dressings I have grown to love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because while it might not be the "exact" same dressing, it's a close copy and goodness, it's deeeeee-lish! I make a double batch (14 servings) and store it in the frig in a Good Seasons cruet. It's keeps for at least a week....maybe more but it doesn't last that long in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
It's good. It's close to the Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing I am use to. It needs some adjustment. There has got to be some secret ingredient(s) I am missing. It's sweeter, and less salty. I may try some "salad supreme" (which BTW is the secret ingredient to awesome pasta salad), and substitute tomato paste for the ketchup. Maybe use some miso paste, that would make more sense then ketchup. Ketchup just doesn't seem right. I've never been to a Japanese restaurant where you can get ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The only change I made was to use 1/2 peanut oil and 1/2 sesame oil. I love the flavors and the longer it sits, the better it tastes. Next time, I'll leave out the salt and black pepper, I don't think it added anything to the dish and soy sauce makes the dressing salty enough for our tastes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I needed a good sesame ginger dressing & found this one. Only change I made was added 2 tsp of sesame oil & I tsp of honey to dressing mix instead of sugar. Turned out wonderful with a shrimp noodle recipe I had. (Cook 8 oz spaghettini al dente. Add 2 cups broccoli coleslaw mix, half cup minced cilantro, 1 lb of shrimp which I sauteed with olive oil & some ginger garlic & dash of soya sauce. Mix all this together in a bowl with 2/3 cup of this salad dressing. Refrigerate until needed. ) Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
this tastes almost exactly like the dressing you get in a japanese restaurant. my suggestion is to do something that decreases the strong taste of onion just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very tasty! How long can I store this? Can I make a big batch and store for 2-3 days in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe. I did overdo the onion a bit by failing to measure and used olive oil instead of peanut as it was all I had on hand... and tit was still delicious. This is a wonderful, fresh-tasting dressing. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I really liked this recipe, pretty close to the Japanese Restaurant style. I did make a few changes to use what I had so I didn't have to go to the store, and to make it Gluten Free. I made a half batch, used a combo of sesame and olive oil instead of peanut oil (tastes great but the sesame is strong so go lighter on it), I added a whole carrot instead of the celery, and used lime juice instead of lemon, also used Gluten Free soy sauce and doubled the ginger (the piece I had wasn't very strong). Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States