Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Although it was delicious, it was too peanuty. In my opinion it didn't really taste like what I think the real dressing tastes like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I was a bit skeptical, but this was exactly what I was looking for. It's a bit heavy on the peanut flavor for me, so I think next time I'll do half peanut half canola oil to tone it down a bit, but I'm incredibly excited about this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I didn't find it tastes anything like any of the Japanese salad dressings I've had. Was disappointed - didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used peanut oil and lime instead of lemon. I wish I had doubled the recipe to have more leftover dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I added a few carrots because they bring a richer flavor and pulp-like consistency I was trying to mimic like the orange colored dressing I've had in Japanese restaurants. I really think the carrots are key. It's the missing ingredient in my opinion!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was amazing! Being preggo I get the craziest cravings sometimes. Well tonight i NEEDED to have a salad like the one we get when we go out for Thai or Sushi. Well, I looooved this!! Hubby loved it too!! We had a great big salad with some Asian baked chicken that I made. He was blown away!! For sure a keeper! Glad there was plenty left over so that I can keep it in the fridge for the next time...tomorrow maybe?? Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Instead of sugar add 1/4 c. honey. You need the sweetness to counteract the salt and acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ourway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Loved this recipe. I had a craving for ginger dressing but wanted an organic alternative. So instead of buying a dressing at the store, I made this one. I didn't have peanut oil but substituted with sesame oil instead. Tasted just like the Japanese restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! I've always wondered how I can make the same salad dressing that I eat when I go to a sushi restaurant.! What's even better, is that it is super easy to make! Just toss in the ingredients whole, and you don't spend time mincing or chopping. Love the texture to the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a super easy dressing to make and it has a wonderful flavour! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina-Li

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States