Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This recipe is great but I am only giving it 4 stars because I do not agree that it is like the Japanese Restaurant's salad dressing. To me, it was more like the sauce that is given at the hibachi to dip beef and veggies in (which I love - but it is not the same as the salad dressing). I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not have fresh ginger and had to substitute ground ginger. Was good on my salad, but I used the leftover dressing the next night to marinate steaks - and they were AMAZING! Just added a little Worcestershire sauce, let the steaks marinate for a few hours in the fridge, and then grilled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Its a great base to start with, for an amazing dressing!.. I followed everything for the most part, I used more fresh ginger root then called for, I had to use olive oil instead of peanut oil since I didn't have any. I didn't put any salt in mine, as I thought the soya sauce would be salty enough. I also added two chopped baby carrots, and appox 2 teasespoons of brown sugar, as I found the vinegar was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coronagirl89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Lovely. So refreshing........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Tastes just like salad dressing served at Japanese steakhouses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
add 2tbs of tahini , it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used some sesame seed oil, 1/4 cup, and 1/4 olive oil. Awesome!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Excellent! But try using honey instead of sugar and carrots instead of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
After reading the reviews I tweak this recipe just a little . Used 3 cherry tomatoes and 1tbsp of ketchup. 1/4c of both peanut oil and sesame oil to create the 1/2c of oil. As suggested by others I used less onion. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This dressing is fantastic! I prefer it with extra ginger, garlic, and 1/4 cup shredded carrots for texture, but the recipe is also delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Good recipe, I followed it to the letter, I read where some say not to mince the onion and celery, but how do you measure? I used all fresh ingredients no powdered or Jared stuff and I was done in five minutes, so why cheat? Now as for taste, I like it but I'm used to a little more depth and I think that comes from sesame oil. So I might add a teaspoon to my next batch. I did let this sit a few before tasting and reviewing because most dressings taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States