Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was AMAZING my family loved it i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Way too much ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I made a half recipe for our small family. Like many reviewers I added some sesame seed oil for more asian taste. I agree with the reviewer who said to use fresh ingredients - not canned, dried, powdered, etc. I regret putting in the ketchup. It tasted much fresher without it. I tasted it before realizing I forgot to put it in. Next time I will use a little fresh tomato instead, or just skip it. I also added some grated carrot for extra texture but it was not needed. I threw in chunks of the onion and celery and used the small cup of the magic blender. BTW, if you are making a full recipe, use the larger cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but it didn't taste like the Japanese dressing I'm used to. I'll keep looking. Love that it's quick and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and it's delicious! I do make changes to it now to try to make it a little healthier for us. Light flavor olive oil instead of peanut, honey instead of sugar, tamari soy sauce. Also this last time I made it, I didn't have a few items so had to make more changes. I used white wine vinegar instead of rice. I also just added more vinegar instead of adding water. Celery seed instead of celery. And I used a red onion instead of a white. I think this really helped w/ the flavor some to make it less oniony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. As others have mentioned you will probably tweak to taste. We went out on a limb and substituted honey in place of sugar. It thickened the sauce and made it a bit silky - huge hit with the kids! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Added a bit more sugar as it was quite bitter, a few teaspoons of honey and some mayo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this dressing. I decide to try this recipe for a cold noodle salad (soba buckwheat) with julienne cabbage and cucumbers. There is a Restaurant here in JAX that serve it and I love it. With this dressing it get better than the restaurant. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This recipe does need some tweaking, but it really is a winner! I have omitted salt, ketchup, honey, celery and water altogether because they are unnecessary. I used the white part of the green onion because it is milder than regular onion. Go easy on the ginger, a little goes a long way! Do not add salt! You will get plenty of salt content from the miso and sauces. The sweetness will come from the carrot and ginger. Mine came out a nice golden yellow color. Here is my version if you want to give it a try. Just combine all the following ingredients to your food processor until well blended and then refrigerate overnight: 1/2 c. green onion (white part only) - 1 bunch yields appx. 1/4 c. 2 cloves garlic 2 carrots Juice of one lemon 1 T. Gari - Japanese pickled ginger 1. T. Tahini - Ground sesame seed paste 2 T. miso soybean paste 2 t. fish sauce 2 t. Ponzu soy sauce - Soy sauce with citrus 1/2 c. peanut oil 1/3 c. rice vinegar 12 turns of pepper mill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Segel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Good dressing, but did not taste like the one served at the sushi restaurant near me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States