Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was awesome. I used vegetable oil since I didn't have peanut oil, but I thought it was great. My favorite dressing from the sushi restaurant I like seems to have more "stuff" in it. I would like to figure out how to get that, but I can't complain about the taste. It is spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for. Even though I didn't have all the right ingredients, it still tasted fabulous and I could tell it would have tasted just like the dressing at Japanese restaurants if I hadn't needed to make the adjustments. I ended up eating two bowls of salad it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Too onion-y and not quite the light dressing I get at a Japanese restaurant. Added more celery and sugar to take away some of the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Wonderful ! Our new favorite salad dressing... keep this recipe and laminate it !! I added a small carrot to give a bit more texture... you could probably do anything you want to the basic recipe and never ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
5 STARS!!!! One of the BEST dressings we have ever eaten!!! It's worth making...but I would make TWO batches because you will want leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I halved the recipe and subbed tomato paste for the ketchup. Really bright, fresh flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This incredibly fresh tasting dressing hits all the right flavor notes that one would expect from their favorite Japanese steakhouse. The texture is spot-on as well; the dressing clung to the lettuce leaves instead of pooling at the bottom of the salad bowl. A tasty topping for a simple salad with leftover grilled chicken, oranges and almonds. Thanks MARBALET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
B- OK and sufficient but def not the same as the one in the restaurant. Gets thick easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Almost perfect. It seemed a like it had a bit too much vinegar and more runny than restaurants serve so I added 1/4 cup may to it and it made it a little creamier. Then it was perfect. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
In a word AMAZING! Reminds me of Benihana, will make this over and over again, SO easy. Worked well for me, made it just like the recipe and everyone loved it. Tweek it all you want, it's still delicious. This recipe is a keeper. Laminate it. Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gay Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States