Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Great Japanese dressing recipe. I LOVE that everything in it is fresh. I used fresh tomato instead of ketchup as AnataniOne suggested and it was GREAT! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was AMAZING my family loved it i will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Way too much ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Very good recipe. I made a half recipe for our small family. Like many reviewers I added some sesame seed oil for more asian taste. I agree with the reviewer who said to use fresh ingredients - not canned, dried, powdered, etc. I regret putting in the ketchup. It tasted much fresher without it. I tasted it before realizing I forgot to put it in. Next time I will use a little fresh tomato instead, or just skip it. I also added some grated carrot for extra texture but it was not needed. I threw in chunks of the onion and celery and used the small cup of the magic blender. BTW, if you are making a full recipe, use the larger cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is Todd Wilbur's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but it didn't taste like the Japanese dressing I'm used to. I'll keep looking. Love that it's quick and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and it's delicious! I do make changes to it now to try to make it a little healthier for us. Light flavor olive oil instead of peanut, honey instead of sugar, tamari soy sauce. Also this last time I made it, I didn't have a few items so had to make more changes. I used white wine vinegar instead of rice. I also just added more vinegar instead of adding water. Celery seed instead of celery. And I used a red onion instead of a white. I think this really helped w/ the flavor some to make it less oniony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe. As others have mentioned you will probably tweak to taste. We went out on a limb and substituted honey in place of sugar. It thickened the sauce and made it a bit silky - huge hit with the kids! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Added a bit more sugar as it was quite bitter, a few teaspoons of honey and some mayo. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I love this dressing. I decide to try this recipe for a cold noodle salad (soba buckwheat) with julienne cabbage and cucumbers. There is a Restaurant here in JAX that serve it and I love it. With this dressing it get better than the restaurant. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

The Japanese Pantry

With soy sauce, rice, nori, and a few other things, create the flavors of Japan.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States