Famous Chicken Francaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Great Recipe very easy. I have been making it for years with a few more herbs and no sauce. I just squeeze lemon on the chicken right before I remove it from heat. I also use oranges or limes for different flavor. This is a very easy quick recipe that results in a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe and had the same problem with the coating becoming soggy and lifting off the chicken. The other problem I had was that once the chicken was browned, simmering it longer in the sauce made it tough. If I were to make this again, I would use thinner cuts of chicken, make the sauce separately, and pour it over just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbg63
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wow! This was awesome!! I pounded out the chicken as suggested in other reviews and sliced some of the thicker breasts in half. I had to cook a bit longer than the recipe said to get the browning I wanted, so I had to add more butter. When I added the broth/lemon mixture, I was afraid it was going to be way too runny. I let it simmer on medium low longer than suggested, and voila! It thickened up quite nicely! Just give it time and leave the lid off. Man, good stuff! Will be fixing again soon for the family! Also, I added more than a pinch of garlic powder to the flour, probably four or five dashes of the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbg63
Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
A definite keeper. Amazing with homemade stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good! Next time I'll thicken the sauce to put on top. This time I was afraid the lemon would be too strong, but it was great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
For those of you who's chicken breasts were too thick...buy yourself a mallet ($10) and pound out the chicken breast between two pieces of saran wrap. Place a piece on a large cutting board, place the chicken (1 at a time) add the second piece of saran wrap and pound til thin. A hammer works too. You will also get alot more for your buck when pounding chicken out. This was a great, simple recipe...but I added a little water to the egg wash and really seasoned the flour with kosher salt, white pepper and herbs du province. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Awesome! My husband works nights and was sleeping while I was cooking this...he wasn't sleeping for long!! Added spices to the flour and also thickened the gravy before adding to the chicken. The bottom crust did seperate from the chicken, but was still very good! Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I couldn't wait to make this recipe after reading all the reviews. What a disappointment. It was just breaded chicken on spaghetti with a lemon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was really good, my family enjoyed it. I am going to reduce the lemon juice in the mixture that is poured over since I had to cook my chicken longer since they were thick. I did use the juices to make a chicken gravy (mixed it with a gravy packet since I was out of bullion) and it was fantastic. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This looks so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Famous Butter Chicken

See how to make moist, tender breaded and baked chicken.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States