Famous Chicken Francaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This was good, however, my family liked my own recipe better. I do the opposite; I dredge chicken in flour first and then the egg and fry until golden. I also make a lemon sauce by melting one stick of butter in a sauce pan adding chicken (depending on how much chicken I have) and the juice of several lemons (to taste) Once it comes to a boil I stir in a water/cornstarch mixture to thicken. I then pour sauce over chicken and bake for about 40 mins. at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
634 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I think this recipe has tremendous potential, but will need some tweaking. My coating stayed on PERFECTLY!... I dipped in flour first, then egg (and left it to marinade for about 20 mins), then flour again, then egg and then finally coated in flour and tossed in the pan. I heated the pan first, then the butter, then put the chicken in and it browned quickly. I also pounded it pretty thin. The coating was perfectly crisp and it even stayed pretty decent with the broth, but next time I think I will keep the broth separate and instead pour everything over linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attitash, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I'm going to give this recipe a second try. On my first attempt I should have realized not to follow the instructions so closely and use a little more common sense, because when I poured the chicken stock/lemon juice mixture over the sauted chicked breasts and simmered it caused the coating to undo itself from the chicken. It would have been better to have kept the chicken separate and prepare the chicken stock/lemon juice mixture separately and pour over the chicken at the last minute. Also I found thickening the stock/juice slightly with a flour and water mixture improved it (clings to the chicken better) and also I added a little bit of lemon zest to both the egg batter and the stock/juice. The presentation of my first attempt was not attractive, but the taste was superb so I'll have to thank Paula for this recipe. My second attempt will most definitely be c'est magnifique! ____________________________________ Joe Marx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Absolutely TA DIE FOR!! Seriously, out of dozens of recipes I've tried on allrecipes, this is by far one of THE BEST. I took the recipe a little further. I marinated the chicken breast in lemon juice & lemon pepper spices first for about 15-20 min. at room temp. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the skillet before throwing the chicken in. And I added more paprika on the chicken after putting it in the skillet. After the chicken was cooked, I took it out and put in on a plate, then wrapped it in foil to keep it hot. Then I made a sort of gravy/sauce out of the leftover chicken broth, etc in the pan. I just mixed in corn starch, milk and a little chicken stock. To serve, I put cooked egg noodles on the plate first, then the sauce, and then topped it with the chicken. Served with sweet corn & it was an amazing meal. It would also have been really good if I cut the cooked chicken up and mixed the sauce, egg noodles and chicken all together. Oh, & I did have to make extra sauce - the egg noodles soak it up. Finally, I did not put the sauce/gravy over the chicken. It didn't need it - it was incredible without it! The author's description of the chicken said, "Heaven" & it's really true, this meal was HEAVEN on a plate. My fiance kept saying over and over, "THIS IS AWESOME!" He couldn't eat it fast enough & kept asking for seconds. His friend, who was a Caterer for the stars also LOVED it! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I made these last night for my housewarming party, and my Aunt came in and helped me. The trick to keeping the mixture on the chicken is very easy. First you heat the pan, then heat the oil. Make sure the oil is hot, then flour, egg your chicken then add to pan. The trick is, you can only flip your chicken once, after the shell has formed on the chicken and is golden brown. Very delicious!! I omitted the garlic powder and paprika. Will definitely add next time as well as white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
My result was "magnifique" but I added more seasonings and I dredged my (paper-towel dried) chicken in flour then eggs then flour again. I simmered the chicken in the sauce until it reduced to the point where I wanted it to be. We thought this was outstanding, but I can see how the original instructions would yield a somewhat bland product with potentially no crust sticking to it, so that's why not 5 stars. But if you add additional herbs (I used 1/4 tsp. Mrs. Dash, 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. pepper and 1/8 tsp. salt) and dredge flour-eggs-flour, I think everyone would come up with the same fantastic result. Too bad it isn't written that way -- this is a hidden gem which lacks only a little seasoning "to taste" to make it outstanding. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Excellent. I add white wine to the chicken broth and thicken with cornstarch. Pour it over the chicken after it has browned and bake before dinner for about 30 minutes. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese and serve with spaghetti. A friend who gets this at every restaurant gave it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
We loved the recipe - very good. To the question of how to keep the meat from losing its coating - just turn once. I tried it with the second batch an it worked perfectly. We will be adding this to our regular menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This was indeed the best! I used most of the other suggestions in the other comments - from pounding and sauteing the chicken to adding cornstarch to the liquid. The chicken was so tender and moist and the overall flavor was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
My husband and I both thought this was a bit bland, even though I added a touch of white wine. The sauce was very watery, should have added a bit of cornstarch. Like a previous reviewer's experience, a lot of my coating was left in the pan. It was alright, but won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Famous Butter Chicken

See how to make moist, tender breaded and baked chicken.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States