Famous Chicken Francaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe is practically a twin to Chicken Piccata II. Try adding more paprika and garlic powder to flour, up to 1/2 tsp of each. Use 1/3 cup of lemon juice to intensify the flavor. The coating sticks much better if you first coat the chicken in the flour mixture, then dip in the egg mixture, then coat in the flour mixture again. Combine 2 Tbs butter and 2 Tbs olive oil in a medium hot skillet. Hot frying oil prevents greasy coatings. When chicken is browned on both sides, add half of the lemon juice and broth, cover and lower heat to a simmer (medium-low) for 20 minutes. Turn breasts after 10 minutes. Near end of cooking time, add rest of broth and lemon juice for a wonderful sauce. Remove chicken, and sprinkle capers into skillet to liven the sauce further. Turn heat to high and stir until liquid begins to boil. Pour sauce on serving platter and place chicken with lemon slices atop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Try it with pork tenderloin. Taste like poor mans veal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was excellent! My husband loved it! So easy to make too. I added about 1 tsp of each garlic powder and paprika to the flour. Also a couple cloves of grated garlic to the chicken broth. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was an excellent dish. My husband is already asking me to make it again. I think the next time I make it however I will soak the chicken in the lemon sauce prior to making the dish. I think the taste could be a little stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Not too shabby! Needed to tweak a bit, but overall not too bad. I did bake in the oven after browning on the stovetop. Also added sliced garlic and it DEFINITELY needs salt which isn't mentioned on the ingredients list. I also dipped in the flour and then the egg and had absolutely NO problem with the coating falling off. I served it with rice and green beans. It was a hit, but there's lots to clean up now, better run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this last week, and the normally pickiest eater (meat & potatoes only please) had 3 servings! I agree with the other reviews about preparing the sauce in a separate skillet and adding at the last minute. Also make sure you pound the chicken really thin before breading. I also fried the chicken in MUCH more butter then it recommended (a whole stick!) and it was really delicious. I also recommend saving a little of the breading mixture (mixed with water or broth) to thicken the sauce before serving, a little more like a gravy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveSummer02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMSURFBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
My result was "magnifique" but I added more seasonings and I dredged my (paper-towel dried) chicken in flour then eggs then flour again. I simmered the chicken in the sauce until it reduced to the point where I wanted it to be. We thought this was outstanding, but I can see how the original instructions would yield a somewhat bland product with potentially no crust sticking to it, so that's why not 5 stars. But if you add additional herbs (I used 1/4 tsp. Mrs. Dash, 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp. pepper and 1/8 tsp. salt) and dredge flour-eggs-flour, I think everyone would come up with the same fantastic result. Too bad it isn't written that way -- this is a hidden gem which lacks only a little seasoning "to taste" to make it outstanding. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
A nice dish, nothing outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great recipe that I didn't have to leave the house to make (no food shopping). Taste was excellent, with a few additions such as fresh garlic in the lemon/stock mix. I also added an egg and pounded flour to breast to ensure a breading that would withstand simmering in stock. A little extra butter so cutlets wouldn't burn, and it was a perfect meal.. -Kenny g-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Famous Butter Chicken

See how to make moist, tender breaded and baked chicken.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States