Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was very good. I put in a few generous grinds of freshly cracked pepper then also added 1/4 tablespoon whole peppercorns because I've been told that it's traditional. I misread the recipe and put even amounts of vinegar and soy and it was fine, although I did add a tablespoon of brown sugar to balance the acid. I've noticed that some chicken adobo recipes call for straining the reduced liquid before dressing the chicken and rice with it, but why discard all that yummy garlic and onion? This is not a spicy dish but I wonder what it would taste like with some heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
It was a great easy recipe, but the pepper was a little too much for us. I'm going to cut it down to 1 teaspoon next time I make this. Also, my son wanted more sauce, so I will probably double the sauce ingredients next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! My husband and son loved it and said it was "a keeper". Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I found the vinegar in this recipe to be extremely overpowering. I had to add water and sugar to cut it. After the additions, it was much better and my husband liked it a lot but I'm not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this for the first time this week. We both enjoyed it. I followed a couple of different suggestions from other reviewers (lowered amt. of vinegar, added coconut milk to the sauce and cooked the jasmine rice with a combination of coconut milk and water). The next time I make it I think I will finish it with a few chopped peanuts or cashews. This might not be traditional but I think I would have enjoyed the texture of some nuts. I've filed it away in my "Quick and Easy Dinner" folder. Those are the best recipes: quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe! Couldn't believe how simple it was to make. I thought it might be too spicy with so much pepper and garlic--but was tasty-not hot at all! Husband and granddaughter loved it also! I made it with thighs because that was what I had on hand. (I skinned them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Easy, fantastic, delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very similar ot the way my Philippino wife makes it. I still prefer her method though which uses 1-2 TBS whole peppercorns that are cracked and she throws in a hot banana pepper or two to give it a little bit of a hot kick along with the spice. As for the onion and fat debates, I prefer having them in there to accent the flavor and add richness to the dish. But I give it a 4 star at written. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradlmil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ami  Herrmann
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was great! My husband loved it! I added a cup of water and a teaspoon of sugar because I was afraid it would be too salty (as mentioned in some reviews) but it was really good. He deemed it "Make againable". This was a nice change to boring chicken. And it was so easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami  Herrmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wow! So, so good!! A bit spicy bc of the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States