Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
We did NOT like this a bit - kids wouldn't even eat it and I barely got it down. VERY salty (and I love salty foods normally) and no flavor other than soy sauce. I followed the recipe exactly (something I rarely do) and tasted the sauce as it cooked - tasted too salty, so I added a few tablespoons of sugar to help balance it out (according to the reviews)and served it - ICK!! Won't be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I love this!... as did my husband and 8 year old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this today but did it in a slow cooker and it was wonderful. I used some boneless chicken breast that I had cleaned and previously frozen in individual freezer bags. I put 5 frozen halved breasts in the cooker, added all the ingredients the recipe called for, but added some frozen roasted red peppers I had in the freezer to add a little color. Set the cooker to low and 4 hours later added some frozen chopped spinach and continued to slow cook. An hour later, I made some quick cooking white rice, boiling it in a chicken stock I had and served the chicken over the rice. The chicken browned from the color of the juice and just fell apart with a fork, so very tender. My husband and I just loved it, as did another male guest we had over tonight and there was very little remaining. I know I will make this recipe often in our home. Thanks angelaBBf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I have never had or heard of Adobo chicken, and when I saw vinegar and soy I was kind of worried. I followed it exactly as written, over white rice, and my boyfriend and I just loved it!! Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was wonderful! It seemed easy enough...I even used precooked chicken (normally not all that tasty...) in order to save time and it was still delicious! Follow the recipe exactly and it turns out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Oh so good. Used chicken thighs. No adjustments needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was good, but a little heavy onn the pepper. i think I will reduce it a little next time. My Filippina sister in law makes her adobo without vinegar and reduces the sauce until it is quite thick and sticky (we actually call it sticky chicken). This caramelization makes it quite sweet without having to add any sugar. Serve this with chopped tomato, onion and soy sauce as a salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Hard to tell why this dish is so good, but it is! Used equal parts red wine vinegar, water and soy sauce, and about 6 cloves garlic plus 1 tsp garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States