Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
The mixture of Soy sauce, garlic, and vinegar was too strong for me. My boyfriend loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
It was easy enough, but just okay. It could be good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I used lite soy sauce, but it came out too salty for my tastes, and I really like salty things, so long as they're not overly salty. I think the balance could have been better. I tried to correct this by adding sugar, and that kind-of helped, but the salty flavor was too much really. Even my guests who tasted it thought it was too salty, no one really even wanted any. I understand a lot of people really don't mind salty soy saucy asian foods, but I really do. I don't like that. I'm going to attempt this again, but this time I'm going to put more onion and garlic and less soy. I'm going to add water too. The vinegar was nice. Also, I used boneless thighs, so in the end the meat shredded apart, I will use full thighs with bones next time. I think this would be good if the balance can be found. I would have liked it to be less salty and more tangy. I suggest you make up the vinegar/water/soy liquid and taste it before adding it to the pot, to make sure it tastes good before it's too late. Also would have been better with some lime or lemon added I think. Cracked Peppercorns are better than regular pepper too. Good luck, don't make the mistake of doing this recipe without first tasting the sauce first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartshinegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great idea to brown the chicken first. it needed something, I am still trying to figure it out! It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
We did NOT like this a bit - kids wouldn't even eat it and I barely got it down. VERY salty (and I love salty foods normally) and no flavor other than soy sauce. I followed the recipe exactly (something I rarely do) and tasted the sauce as it cooked - tasted too salty, so I added a few tablespoons of sugar to help balance it out (according to the reviews)and served it - ICK!! Won't be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I love this!... as did my husband and 8 year old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this today but did it in a slow cooker and it was wonderful. I used some boneless chicken breast that I had cleaned and previously frozen in individual freezer bags. I put 5 frozen halved breasts in the cooker, added all the ingredients the recipe called for, but added some frozen roasted red peppers I had in the freezer to add a little color. Set the cooker to low and 4 hours later added some frozen chopped spinach and continued to slow cook. An hour later, I made some quick cooking white rice, boiling it in a chicken stock I had and served the chicken over the rice. The chicken browned from the color of the juice and just fell apart with a fork, so very tender. My husband and I just loved it, as did another male guest we had over tonight and there was very little remaining. I know I will make this recipe often in our home. Thanks angelaBBf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I have never had or heard of Adobo chicken, and when I saw vinegar and soy I was kind of worried. I followed it exactly as written, over white rice, and my boyfriend and I just loved it!! Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was wonderful! It seemed easy enough...I even used precooked chicken (normally not all that tasty...) in order to save time and it was still delicious! Follow the recipe exactly and it turns out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States