Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is a real keeper. Made it as a low cal dinner and I'll be darned if it didn't turn out to be comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
It sounded so good, the reviews were so positive . I didn't like this dish, neither did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Yum...this dish makes me so happy, feels like I'm eating my mom's homecooking. I just added equal parts (1/4c each) of low sodium soy sauce, white vinegar, and water to the browned chicken/onion/garlic. SO GOOD!!! Will definitely add this to the regular dish list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used this recipe for my niece's potluck for work and it was a HIT! I followed the recipe and just added hard boiled eggs and thicken the sauce a little wit cornstarch because thats how my dad cooks his adobo. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I had never tried chicken adobo before, but decided to give it a chance. DELICIOUS! It doesn't get much easier than this. I used 5 lbs of chicken thighs with skin removed. I used 1 cup of regular soy sauce & 1 cup vinegar. I omitted the sliced onion since most of my kids don't care for it and used onion powder instead. I only used about 1 tsp of pepper. This was one of those dishes where I couldn't stop saying "Mmmm" while I was eating it! Even though I didn't use reduced sodium soy sauce, I didn't find the finished dish to be too salty at all. I did add about 2 TBSP brown sugar. This was fabulous served over rice with steamed broccoli on the side. YUMMY! Oh yah, most of my kids really liked it, especially my pickiest one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
A very delicious recipe! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleandparris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
The mixture of Soy sauce, garlic, and vinegar was too strong for me. My boyfriend loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
It was easy enough, but just okay. It could be good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I used lite soy sauce, but it came out too salty for my tastes, and I really like salty things, so long as they're not overly salty. I think the balance could have been better. I tried to correct this by adding sugar, and that kind-of helped, but the salty flavor was too much really. Even my guests who tasted it thought it was too salty, no one really even wanted any. I understand a lot of people really don't mind salty soy saucy asian foods, but I really do. I don't like that. I'm going to attempt this again, but this time I'm going to put more onion and garlic and less soy. I'm going to add water too. The vinegar was nice. Also, I used boneless thighs, so in the end the meat shredded apart, I will use full thighs with bones next time. I think this would be good if the balance can be found. I would have liked it to be less salty and more tangy. I suggest you make up the vinegar/water/soy liquid and taste it before adding it to the pot, to make sure it tastes good before it's too late. Also would have been better with some lime or lemon added I think. Cracked Peppercorns are better than regular pepper too. Good luck, don't make the mistake of doing this recipe without first tasting the sauce first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heartshinegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States