Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made this recipe for 100+ people (just used the recipe calculator to increase the measurements to serve 108!). I followed the suggestions in the reviews to not take out the chicken after browning and to just add everything to the chicken in the pot. I don't really like cooking or eating chicken, but this came out PHENOMENAL!! It wasn't vinegary at all, and it was a really simple recipe! My house is blazing hot from the stove going all day, but it smells AMAZING in here. Thanks so much, will definitely use this for family dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is SOOOOOO GOOD! My roommate in college was Filipino and this tastes like the adobo her mother would make. I'm so glad you posted this one. The only change I made was to use Bragg's liquid aminos instead of soy sauce to cut the sodium, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Yum! I originally made this recipe exactly following instructions, using thighs because that's what I had in the fridge. We liked it but found the soy a little overpowering. I altered it to use 1/2 cup soy and 1/2 cup vinegar - and with that small adjustment it is superb. I usually serve it with fried rice and egg rolls. My whole family devours it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have made this exactly as written many times. My family loves it. It is quick and simple. I do prefer to use boneless skinless thighs and it takes no time at all to make. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbeez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was pretty spicy, and we like spicy. I would have enjoyed it more had it been toned down a bit, but that is just personal opinion. I used chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Was a bit salty for my liking but once I mixed it with the rice it wasn't as bad. Good flavor once you get past the salty. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Yummy recipe! Used wings and bonless chicken breasts (personal preference). I used 1 cup apple cider vinegar and 2/3 cup low sodium soy sauce. LOTS of garlic - probably about 10 cloves worth, 1 tsp. of black pepper corns and about 3 bay leaves. Browned the onions and garlic in the pan then added chicken. Placed the browned chicken in my old roasting pan. Deglazed the frying pan with the vinegar, soy, and 1 cup of water. Cooked at 325* for about 2 hours (1.5 hours with the lid on, the last 30 min. w/lid off) and it was divine! Great flavor! Thanks for the inspiration angelaBBf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
To lighten this up a bit to fit my weight loss program, I used skinned chicken leg quarters and did not brown them first in any oil. I only used 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 2/3, and increased the bay leaves to 4. This smelled wonderful while it was cooking, and the sauce cooked down to a thick glaze. I served the chicken with braised baby bok choy and a cucumber mango salad. Dinner was absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Great flavor! I followed the recipe as instructed, with one small change. My daughter does not like chicken bones, so I used boneless chicken breasts cut up into small pieces. Adjusted the cooking time down a little to compensate for no bones, and it's fabulous! Thinking of making this at our next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Youngreen Weihe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
2 Things, you don't need onion with the garlic, and you left out the fresh (sliced into thin pieces) Ginger Root. Also take out Bay leaf and strain broth of Ginger before adding to Chicken and rice. Other than that very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayKis1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States