Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I've lived in Asia for over 16 years so I am quite familiar with Adobo;-) So my kids were quite excited when I was going to try and make it myself. Used recipe as a guideline for ingredients and made the below changes: Put fresh garlic and ginger into the cooking oil before frying the chicken. I used 2 large chicken breast for 1 adult and 2 kids. There is 1.5 portion as leftover. Besides all the seasoning required we added a teaspoon of sugar, a .5 tsp of pepper, .25 c of water, 2 large potatoes. Fry chicken first and then add all ingredients and bring it to a boil. Once boiling, let it simmer. Once potatoes are soft then its ready to serve. If you prefer thicker gravy (like we do), take a 2tsp of corn starch and mix with 2tsp of room temp water and add to the mixture. Let simmer and thicken to your liking. Chop spring onions and garnish the dish. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Was in a hurry and had frozen thighs so followed recipe to the letter except I made it in my electric pressure cooker and cooked it for 60 minuted on 80 pressure with some chopped onion and 1/3C brown sugar. Was a hit with the kiddos and the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My son loves this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Jenk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
It has only a soy sauce taste. It asks for a whole Tablespoon of pepper and garlic powde and there is already 2 Tablespoons of garlic. And a Tablespoon of pepper is WAY too much. It says to "season" it so I think the tablespoon measurement might be a typo. I didn't have 3 lbs of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Add 1 1/2 cup of water and 1 tablespoon of sugar;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
So yummy! I made it last night for my family and everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This comes out perfect every time. I make dream rice or Mexican rice. I also add corn starch to the adobo so that we can spoon the thickened sauce over the rice. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was really good. We always use low-sodium and I usually add some water just to tame it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great recipe for the famous adobo from the Philippines!I have my own version of chicken adobo and pork adobo (also pork and chicken adobo combo)since 1986 and this is also a great recipe. My wife is from Negros Occidental, Philippines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONNYCHIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I am 1/2 filipino.. made this recipe and was DELICIOUS!! I only made 2 slight modifications - #1 - I did not remove the chicken after I browned it and #2 added 1/4 cup of water.. great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomi94536

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States