Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
WOW! simply the best Filipino Recipe. more at lutongbahay.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My Filipino family's chicken adobo recipe is very similar. We use 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1 cup water, 2 bay leaves, and omit pepper. A generous seasoning of granulated garlic can also be used in place of garlic cloves. A nice variation is also adding a little ground ginger. Delicious over steamed white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Delicious and easy. It seemed kind of silly to put in fresh garlic and then add garlic powder, so I just used about 8 cloves of garlic and added it with the onion. I used almost 5 lbs of chicken I think (leg quarters) and there was plenty of sauce to go around. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My mother-in-law (a filipina) likes to make her Adobo slightly sweet. This recipe is nice and saucy unlike my MIL's. So, I added about 1 tsp. of sugar. It was perfect! I'm going to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was delicious. Very easy to make and entire family ate all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
They edited the recipe. It's actually easier than they say... You don't have to remove the chicken from the pan after you've browned it. Just leave it in, add the onions, etc and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was pretty good, I made it for a friend from Asia. I think next time I would cut back just a little bit on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This is a very easy dish. You don't even really have to brown the chicken if you don't want to. It just looks better with a little browning the taste is the same either way. I used a package of chicken pieces with bones. I used 10 garlic cloves smashed, chopped potatoes, and all the rest of the ingredients in the pot all at once. Then cook as the recipe states. It is even better the next day. My husband who has never had this before loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davos, Graubunden, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I have been a fan of this recipe for years and was excited to read all the reviews for chicken adobo. I was not disappointed. I am not the best cook in the world, but you couldn't tell by the way my family ate it up. The was none left. I followed the recipe exactly except I used little party wings, easier for 2 and 4 year olds to manage. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States