Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this recipe last night and I received mixed reviews, although all I had left was rice. My husband thought it was a bit too spicy, maybe too much black pepper. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
its ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is a terrific recipe! Good as a leftover also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
We did not care for this at all. The soy sauce overpowered all other flavors. Will not fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this for my husband who grew up in the Philippines. He LOVED this dish. He said it smelled and tasted just like home. I followed the recipe pretty closely but used white wine vinegar because that's what I had on hand. We thought it was too peppery so next time I will decrease the pepper to 1/3 tbsp or so. For the other reviewers that thought this dish was too salty, my husband explained that traditional adobo is supposed to be salty. But that can always be adjusted to your taste. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. This will be a regular at our house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Oh.My.God!! This was absolutely delicious!! I've never left a review on here before, but after eating the leftovers today & being reminded of how yummy this was, I had to! I tried to make it as close to the recipe as possible--but after reading the reviews, I had to make a few little changes :-) And I loved that I had ALL the ingredients on-hand! I cooked the onion/garlic til very brown (so onions would be sweet instead of too strong). I used chicken thighs, since that's what I had here. Then *I also added about 1-1.5 C WATER so that the chicken was soaking more in liquid (and the sauce DEFINITELY didn't have a watered down taste!) *I only added about 1/4 t pep & 1/2 t gar pwdr. 1T sounded like WAY too much pepper, and with the garlic already in there, I didn't see the need for that much extra gar powder--and I LOVE garlic!. I wanted it extra saucy, so *I used 1/2C vinegar, and about 1/2C + 2T soy sauce. and finally at the end, after tasting it & feeling like it was a bit on the vinegary side, *I added about 1T brown sugar. This was a BIG hit! My husband, Mom & I LOVED it, 8yr old said it was 'really good' & VERY picky 3yr old actually liked it (said "mmmm mommy this is yummy"!) (ironically my other 8yr old who eats everything I cook, didn't like all the sauce I put on his rice, and I had to give him plain rice. although he liked the chicken taste without all the sauce) Thanks Angela for such a yummy way for me to try making Filipino food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacky Boles Duncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Wow yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitty1534
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and everybody LOVED it. I did make a few changes to make it South Beach Diet friendly (I used EVOO instead of vegetable oil and used boneless skinless chicken breasts) and it was still fantastic. We had it served over brown rice w/ a ride of sugar snap peas. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty1534

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I'm filipina, so I have to say this recipe is close to how my auntie taught me. However, also add some fresh lemon juice and cubes of potato. Yum! The potatoes really soak up the sauce and taste great! Add a little sugar if it's too vinegary and add flour or cornstarch if you'd like a thicker sauce. Masarap!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used skinless chicken thighs, and just skipped the browning step. I put in 1 cup of the low-sodium soy, and used only 1/2 cup red wine vinegar. Used 5-6 smashed garlic cloves, onion, 2 TBSP black pepper, 2 bay leaves, as well as garlic powder and onion powder (Jacques Pepin always advises to use both the powders as well as the actual onion & garlic for maximum flavor). I would have given this 5 stars, but I decreased the vinegar as I was concerned there would be too much vinegar, as other reviewers stated. I don't think there was enough! Next time, I'll use a full cup of white vinegar. Then I think it'll be perfect! Cooked in the crockpot on high for 4-5 hrs, & added in some matchstick carrots for the last 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States