Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Wow yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natasha
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and everybody LOVED it. I did make a few changes to make it South Beach Diet friendly (I used EVOO instead of vegetable oil and used boneless skinless chicken breasts) and it was still fantastic. We had it served over brown rice w/ a ride of sugar snap peas. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I'm filipina, so I have to say this recipe is close to how my auntie taught me. However, also add some fresh lemon juice and cubes of potato. Yum! The potatoes really soak up the sauce and taste great! Add a little sugar if it's too vinegary and add flour or cornstarch if you'd like a thicker sauce. Masarap!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used skinless chicken thighs, and just skipped the browning step. I put in 1 cup of the low-sodium soy, and used only 1/2 cup red wine vinegar. Used 5-6 smashed garlic cloves, onion, 2 TBSP black pepper, 2 bay leaves, as well as garlic powder and onion powder (Jacques Pepin always advises to use both the powders as well as the actual onion & garlic for maximum flavor). I would have given this 5 stars, but I decreased the vinegar as I was concerned there would be too much vinegar, as other reviewers stated. I don't think there was enough! Next time, I'll use a full cup of white vinegar. Then I think it'll be perfect! Cooked in the crockpot on high for 4-5 hrs, & added in some matchstick carrots for the last 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was very good. I put in a few generous grinds of freshly cracked pepper then also added 1/4 tablespoon whole peppercorns because I've been told that it's traditional. I misread the recipe and put even amounts of vinegar and soy and it was fine, although I did add a tablespoon of brown sugar to balance the acid. I've noticed that some chicken adobo recipes call for straining the reduced liquid before dressing the chicken and rice with it, but why discard all that yummy garlic and onion? This is not a spicy dish but I wonder what it would taste like with some heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
It was a great easy recipe, but the pepper was a little too much for us. I'm going to cut it down to 1 teaspoon next time I make this. Also, my son wanted more sauce, so I will probably double the sauce ingredients next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! My husband and son loved it and said it was "a keeper". Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I found the vinegar in this recipe to be extremely overpowering. I had to add water and sugar to cut it. After the additions, it was much better and my husband liked it a lot but I'm not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this for the first time this week. We both enjoyed it. I followed a couple of different suggestions from other reviewers (lowered amt. of vinegar, added coconut milk to the sauce and cooked the jasmine rice with a combination of coconut milk and water). The next time I make it I think I will finish it with a few chopped peanuts or cashews. This might not be traditional but I think I would have enjoyed the texture of some nuts. I've filed it away in my "Quick and Easy Dinner" folder. Those are the best recipes: quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe! Couldn't believe how simple it was to make. I thought it might be too spicy with so much pepper and garlic--but was tasty-not hot at all! Husband and granddaughter loved it also! I made it with thighs because that was what I had on hand. (I skinned them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States