Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
When I first sampled this while I was cooking, I thought it was good; but after sitting down to eat it the pepper just became overpowering. Surprisingly I did not have a problem with the vinegar or soy sauce even though I used lite version. Deciding whether I should make again w/modifications recommended by others. My husband politely told me to remove it from the (remake) list, while my picky 5 y.o. actually liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I tried this recipe because I only had chicken legs in the freezer and had no idea what to do with them. This recipe did not dissappoint!!! Not being familiar with Filipino adobo, I didn't know what to expect but the flavor was full, robust, and delightful! It was really easy to make, which is important for a beginner like me! I would definitely make this again. Based on some of the reviews, I did make a few changes: I used 1c each of vinegar, soy sauce and water so that I would have more liquid to create more of a stew. I also used 2 bay leaves. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I minced so many garlic cloves, I did not use the garlic powder (seemed redundant). I added 1 tsp of sugar, like other reviewers suggested. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very good, my husband loved it. And it was so stinkin easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lhampton
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this recipe last night and I received mixed reviews, although all I had left was rice. My husband thought it was a bit too spicy, maybe too much black pepper. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
its ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is a terrific recipe! Good as a leftover also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
We did not care for this at all. The soy sauce overpowered all other flavors. Will not fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this for my husband who grew up in the Philippines. He LOVED this dish. He said it smelled and tasted just like home. I followed the recipe pretty closely but used white wine vinegar because that's what I had on hand. We thought it was too peppery so next time I will decrease the pepper to 1/3 tbsp or so. For the other reviewers that thought this dish was too salty, my husband explained that traditional adobo is supposed to be salty. But that can always be adjusted to your taste. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. This will be a regular at our house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Oh.My.God!! This was absolutely delicious!! I've never left a review on here before, but after eating the leftovers today & being reminded of how yummy this was, I had to! I tried to make it as close to the recipe as possible--but after reading the reviews, I had to make a few little changes :-) And I loved that I had ALL the ingredients on-hand! I cooked the onion/garlic til very brown (so onions would be sweet instead of too strong). I used chicken thighs, since that's what I had here. Then *I also added about 1-1.5 C WATER so that the chicken was soaking more in liquid (and the sauce DEFINITELY didn't have a watered down taste!) *I only added about 1/4 t pep & 1/2 t gar pwdr. 1T sounded like WAY too much pepper, and with the garlic already in there, I didn't see the need for that much extra gar powder--and I LOVE garlic!. I wanted it extra saucy, so *I used 1/2C vinegar, and about 1/2C + 2T soy sauce. and finally at the end, after tasting it & feeling like it was a bit on the vinegary side, *I added about 1T brown sugar. This was a BIG hit! My husband, Mom & I LOVED it, 8yr old said it was 'really good' & VERY picky 3yr old actually liked it (said "mmmm mommy this is yummy"!) (ironically my other 8yr old who eats everything I cook, didn't like all the sauce I put on his rice, and I had to give him plain rice. although he liked the chicken taste without all the sauce) Thanks Angela for such a yummy way for me to try making Filipino food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Sprat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States