Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I'm not sure what went wrong here, but despite using low sodium soy sauce, all we could taste was salt. It was so overpowering I couldn't finish my portion. I'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I'm a Filipino but I can't seem to get the right proportions on my adobo. I followed this recipe the other day and it was wonderful!!! I LOVE it! Thanks for sharing your recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
wasn't a huge fan--there seemed to be way too much soy sauce. I also feel the recipe name should have some type of reference to the Filipino adobo vs. the traditional Spanish adobo. Very misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Easy to make and very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is a real keeper. Made it as a low cal dinner and I'll be darned if it didn't turn out to be comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
It sounded so good, the reviews were so positive . I didn't like this dish, neither did my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Yum...this dish makes me so happy, feels like I'm eating my mom's homecooking. I just added equal parts (1/4c each) of low sodium soy sauce, white vinegar, and water to the browned chicken/onion/garlic. SO GOOD!!! Will definitely add this to the regular dish list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used this recipe for my niece's potluck for work and it was a HIT! I followed the recipe and just added hard boiled eggs and thicken the sauce a little wit cornstarch because thats how my dad cooks his adobo. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I had never tried chicken adobo before, but decided to give it a chance. DELICIOUS! It doesn't get much easier than this. I used 5 lbs of chicken thighs with skin removed. I used 1 cup of regular soy sauce & 1 cup vinegar. I omitted the sliced onion since most of my kids don't care for it and used onion powder instead. I only used about 1 tsp of pepper. This was one of those dishes where I couldn't stop saying "Mmmm" while I was eating it! Even though I didn't use reduced sodium soy sauce, I didn't find the finished dish to be too salty at all. I did add about 2 TBSP brown sugar. This was fabulous served over rice with steamed broccoli on the side. YUMMY! Oh yah, most of my kids really liked it, especially my pickiest one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
A very delicious recipe! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleandparris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Famous Chicken Francaise

See how to make delicious garlic chicken in a tangy lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States