Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I mixed all the ingreadients in a large bowl and marinated the (skinless) chicken for several hours first. I also upped the liquids by double as I like to thicken the sauce later, making a rich gravy. After the chicken has marinated I put it dry - flash fry it in oil (to brown it) then add back all the liquids and cook as normal. Additionally I add 3-4 Tablespoons of whole green peppercorns. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a little different than the way my lola used to make it but it was still good. It was a little salty even with the low sodium soy sauce as some reviews have stated. I just added a little more vinegar to it and it was good. All in all a good dish :) If you don't like it as tangy my lola would add a can of sprite to sweeten it up much better than sugar in my opinion lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Hubby said this was the best chicken adobo I have ever made! The entire family loved it! Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe is pretty good base because it has the perfect measurements for the soy sauce and vinegar. I just don't cook the chicken first. I do saute the onions and garlic with cooking spray and then add the chicken without skin and then add then add the soy sauce, vinegar and water and season with black pepper. No need for add'l garlic powder because the soy sauce is enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made this recipe for 100+ people (just used the recipe calculator to increase the measurements to serve 108!). I followed the suggestions in the reviews to not take out the chicken after browning and to just add everything to the chicken in the pot. I don't really like cooking or eating chicken, but this came out PHENOMENAL!! It wasn't vinegary at all, and it was a really simple recipe! My house is blazing hot from the stove going all day, but it smells AMAZING in here. Thanks so much, will definitely use this for family dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is SOOOOOO GOOD! My roommate in college was Filipino and this tastes like the adobo her mother would make. I'm so glad you posted this one. The only change I made was to use Bragg's liquid aminos instead of soy sauce to cut the sodium, and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Yum! I originally made this recipe exactly following instructions, using thighs because that's what I had in the fridge. We liked it but found the soy a little overpowering. I altered it to use 1/2 cup soy and 1/2 cup vinegar - and with that small adjustment it is superb. I usually serve it with fried rice and egg rolls. My whole family devours it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have made this exactly as written many times. My family loves it. It is quick and simple. I do prefer to use boneless skinless thighs and it takes no time at all to make. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbeez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was pretty spicy, and we like spicy. I would have enjoyed it more had it been toned down a bit, but that is just personal opinion. I used chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Was a bit salty for my liking but once I mixed it with the rice it wasn't as bad. Good flavor once you get past the salty. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States