Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I am 1/2 filipino.. made this recipe and was DELICIOUS!! I only made 2 slight modifications - #1 - I did not remove the chicken after I browned it and #2 added 1/4 cup of water.. great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomi94536

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Delicious. Make sure you brown the chicken enough at the start. Also, I used drumsticks instead of a whole chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe and it has been a while since I found one online that includes vinegar! (I haven't had the need to look up this recipe online as I've been making this since I was a kid.) Try adding potatoes! It absorbs all the flavors and all of its wonderful goodness explodes in your mouth in one bite! Yum! *Side note: I was born in the US so I can't really say what's "authentic" and what's not...but from what I learned from my mom, who's from Manilla, and my dad, who's from Sto. Tomas, each region has their own way of making it. I don't think there's a wrong or right, authentic or not. It's all a matter of preference...until it gets mass produced and Panda Express makes a Filipino version. That would suck. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We all like this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I used fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of the vinegar. I love the tanginess. I also added potatoes and carrots for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Easy enough to make, but it needs a bit of tweaking. The taste of soy sauce and vinegar are overpowering even after adding the 5 tablespoons of brown sugar suggested by other reviews. I used chicken breast cut into tenders and cut the time down to 30 minutes. They came out very tender and flavorfull, just not an enjoyable flavor. If I try again I will cut the soy sauce down and see if that helps, not sure what else to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My mother made this with equal parts soy sauce and vinegar, and no onions. The chicken was first cooked in the marinade and after it was fully cooked and tender (about 45 min), pan fried briefly in coconut oil, before adding back the sauce and heating through. I imagine many non-Filipinos would find this too salty, but remember that traditionally adobo is eaten with bland steamed rice, so the taste evens out. If preferred it would be easy enough to reduce the soy sauce/vinegar mixture and increase the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was really good. I used 1/2 cup of soy and 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar because it's what I had and what I thought would suit my family's taste. Skipped the garlic powder and used a ton of fresh garlic. The four chicken thighs I used were so tender they fell off the bone after about 6 hours in the crock pot. I added some red bell pepper and green cabbage for color and veggies, it was a really good combination. Served over jasmine rice-yum. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I mixed all the ingreadients in a large bowl and marinated the (skinless) chicken for several hours first. I also upped the liquids by double as I like to thicken the sauce later, making a rich gravy. After the chicken has marinated I put it dry - flash fry it in oil (to brown it) then add back all the liquids and cook as normal. Additionally I add 3-4 Tablespoons of whole green peppercorns. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States