Famous Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My variations include adding a shot of sherry, a tablespoon or two of sugar and a piece of star anise along with the soya sauce and water. Cook that up and the flavour is far from bland, plain or just salty. For colour my dad used to add chunks of carrot and let that cook along. If you want to thicken it, add a bit of cornstarch (1 tsp or so) disolved in water, and bring to a final boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is delicious and its healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Adobo is easy to make and delicious with rice. Believe it or not, I throw everything and simmer (about 35 minutes). I usually use whole chicken cut up (or use legs), use the same amount of vinegar as soy sauce, whole peppercorn, pounded garlic, (it's okay to not add onions), bay leaf, and enough water to cover about half the meat. After simmering, increase the heat to "fry" the chicken from the chicken fat and have just a thickened sauce, do not dry it. I love using pork ribs or even baby back ribs instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
There's no meet to put onions. Adobo is supposed to be salty, peppery and garlic-y. adobo also taste better with crunchy fried garlic bits and toasted (crushed) peanuts on top. And guys, I always make sure that 1/4 of the meat has fat or else it'll go super dry. If the vinegar and soy sauce started to boil, DON'T stir, or else the liquids won't thicken up. The sauce is supposed to be shiny. If it's too salty for you're taste, try adding brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa City, Laguna, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
A very good adobo! Husband loved this! As an adobo, it was good, 4 stars. Needed a little more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It was a little too salty for me, and I even put less soy sauce than it called for. I also stir fried some veggies and added it to it. It was very easy to make, just a little salty. My husband however loved it..So I guess it just depends on the person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
If you love Chicken Adobo, this is a great recipe! I did add some brown sugar like a few other people did, about 4 tblspns. My whole family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was WONDERFUL!!! I took the advice of others and added a bit of apple cider vinegar...and WOW!! So easy and YUMMY!!! My Pinoy friends all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMFORTKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Smells like Filipino Adobo as it was simmering in the pot. Taste great too. It needed Whole Peppercorns in there to make it more authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Very easy and good. For the person who says it was "bitter" tasting; my advise is to check the date on the vinegar. Old vinegar will taste bitter. My mom made this all the time and since she passed away I missed having this. It tasted very much like what she used to make us. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by euphgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States