Famous Amos Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
these are really great but they turned out rather crumbly. i've since edited the recipe slightly and posted step-by-step instructions as well as pictures to guide each step of the way.. do visit to view the updated recipe. =) Happy holidays Everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
451 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
I guess I was expecting this to taste like a Famous Amos cookie. No where even close to it. It's an ok cookie, kind of blah for me.It was to cakey for a proper choc. chip cookie. It tastes absolutely nothing like a Famous Amos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. They really do taste like Famous Amos cookies. It's also a kid-friendly recipe. My 8 year old had no problem/or questions while making this recipe. Good thing it makes a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I hate that I didn't read the reviews first. This is not the Famous Amos cookie recipe at all. Also the fact that they are "light in color" is not typical of a Famous Amos cookie. That should have been a giveaway. The cookies are a little too crumbly, the original Famous Amos recipe was a cookie that was cake-like, moist but had a firmness to it. Will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I have made this cookies many many times for my family and they just love it especially with the kids. But I cut down on the sugar and so I ommit the white sugar.We pefer the cookies to be cruncy so I bake it for any extra 1o mins and it turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Not only have I never had a Famous Amos Chocolate Chip Cookie before, I also didn’t care whether this recipe produced a cookie that tasted like one or not. Truth be told, I always give a second glance to cookie recipes with cream of tartar and oil (and generally confectioners’ sugar is in there too) because I like the texture of the cookies made with those ingredients. These cookies turned out just how I expected. They’re light and crispy on the edges, soft in the middle, and maybe just a little greasier (I wish there was a better way of describing that characteristic but I have word block right now). They’re not dry or crumbly, let’s put it that way. I used Nestle “Buncha Crunch” (little nuggets of Nestle Crunch bars) not because I thought they’d be better than chocolate chips and walnuts, but only because I had them to use. I love these cookies. I wouldn’t say they’re better than others I’ve tried, because they’re different than some of my other favorites. If this indeed is what Famous Amos cookies taste like, and if I was so inclined to buy cookies rather than making them, I’d buy these. :) Addendum: Hubs, who is notoriously stingy with 5-star ratings, rated these as such without even prompting him for an opinion. Because they're different, he said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Bever-li
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I just made these and my family loved them. I Didnt change a thing. This is a keeper; I have been looking for a recipe that is like the ones that I make at school and these are it. Thanks for the recipe. =) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
So easy, & tastes just like the real thing! I found that it takes about 15 minutes per batch, not 8-12 as in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ariel_gal
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
i wanted to omit the white sugar but it wasnt sweet enough. so i added the white sugar at the end. the cookie dough became to dry and crumbly so I added some milk and honey. turned out pretty close to famous amos cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariel_gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
These are a great choice if you like crunchy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States