Famous Amos Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is a really light fragile chocolate chip cookie. It is good but not what I was looking for but it was worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I, too, have only had very crisp, small cookies by Famous Amos and personally don't care for them much, so if this recipe differs from the original-with that being the original-good! These produced a somewhat crumbly, but definitely moist, soft cookie. In no way were they cakey and I struggle to know how anyone could manage that outcome. They were sweet and maybe could've used a bit more vanilla, but all in all a good, soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
this cookie is pretty good but... to those who said this is not a famous amos cookie is mistaken, not that you're wrong. rather that there is a difference in different countries when it comes to this franchise. from where i come from, our famous amos is crispy, crunchy and rather crumbly. compared to other countries,(not sure where) but i remebered them being soft and chewy. cake-like i suppose. so, yeah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
It doesn't really taste 100% like famous amos, but i'm quite happy with with the results already. Its abt 60%-70% there? It makes a really huge batch though. I'm going to try the next time with a little less sugar as i prefer them to be less sweet. And a little extra i did, the last 1 min of baking the cookies, i placed them all the way to the top of the oven to give the cookies a more brownish look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I just tried this recipe (6 May, 2012). I followed the recipe exactly. It's a good recipe. I followed the time exactly 12 minutes. I kept some cookie dough (3 rolls in foil). When I cut and baked them at exactly 175 Degrees C for 12 minutes from frozen they turned out perfect too. Tried to add some time to make them crispier @13 minutes. They turned out fine too. Tried 1 batch at 14 minutes and them were slightly over baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
No, they don't taste like famous amos cookies, but that really doesn't matter here. What we have with this recipe is a uniquely tasty chocolate chip cookie! At first I wasn't sure how much I like it, as my favorite cookie is chewy. Some reviewers have described these as dry and crumbly... I'd say tender and melt-in-your-mouth is more accurate. Sure, it crumbles a bit but it's not due to dryness. That could be attributed to overbaking, which I noticed I did to one sheet of cookies. Err on the side of under-baking and you'll be quite pleased with this non-traditional chocolate chip cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Not only have I never had a Famous Amos Chocolate Chip Cookie before, I also didn’t care whether this recipe produced a cookie that tasted like one or not. Truth be told, I always give a second glance to cookie recipes with cream of tartar and oil (and generally confectioners’ sugar is in there too) because I like the texture of the cookies made with those ingredients. These cookies turned out just how I expected. They’re light and crispy on the edges, soft in the middle, and maybe just a little greasier (I wish there was a better way of describing that characteristic but I have word block right now). They’re not dry or crumbly, let’s put it that way. I used Nestle “Buncha Crunch” (little nuggets of Nestle Crunch bars) not because I thought they’d be better than chocolate chips and walnuts, but only because I had them to use. I love these cookies. I wouldn’t say they’re better than others I’ve tried, because they’re different than some of my other favorites. If this indeed is what Famous Amos cookies taste like, and if I was so inclined to buy cookies rather than making them, I’d buy these. :) Addendum: Hubs, who is notoriously stingy with 5-star ratings, rated these as such without even prompting him for an opinion. Because they're different, he said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good but they don't really taste like Famous Amos cookies. The search goes on! Family loved them anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
If you use an actual teaspoon for dropping your cookies, then you'll end up with more like 14 dozen (my result). I guess my only other criticism is that for the amount of dough made, I'd put more than 2 cups of choc. chips into the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
i skip walnut since i forgot to go n buy..:p and my bf add half cup of milk cos he said 1 tablespoon wont make a different. so then we put lot of choc chip in the dough and also on top for decoration. baked for 12min and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe and i got extra point from my bf...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy Shaari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States