Family's Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I've been looking pretty hard for a good creamed spinach recipe lately and I think I have found it. It's very easy and really good. The first time, I made it straight from the recipe. The second, I added about 1/4 cup (maybe a little less) of half and half. That seemed to give it something I thought more suitable. Either way, it's very good, thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
If prepared as written, I don't think this would be very good. Canned soup and raw onions? I followed the advise of other reviewers and sauted the onions and garlic in 1 tablespoon of butter. Then I added another tblsp of butter and the flour and made a roux with fat-free half and half (thanks, Lin), then I added the canned soup along with some Worchestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, paprika and nutmeg. Once this mixture was hot, I added 2 10 oz bags of fresh spinach, stirred it in, covered the pan and allowed to cook for about 10 minutes. Once the spinach had wilted, I added some freshly grated parm and poured the mixture into a casserole dish. I topped the spinach with bread crumbs and more parm and baked it for 20 minutes. This barely resembled the original recipe, but it was delicious. Thanks for the basic idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I agree with some of the others that this was too bland. I always take a little bite as I go along and knew that I needed to do something to make this side more exciting. In addition to adding more spices, I made a roux using fat free half and half and added in some parm. What a difference it made. Topped it off with more parm and a bit of paprika. Ended up making this in the morning and just popping it in the oven later on. Good start tho and thanks! BTW RogerBerry, please let me compliment you on your advice about using your potato ricer to squeeze out the spinach. I've been struggling with trying to squeeze the water out of spinach for YEARS and never once thought of the ricer. You're a genious man! I'll be posting this helpful hint on my OurTableTalk.com forum for my friends to see. Thanks so much and I can't even begin to tell you how much time I saved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I love this easy recipe! I make a few small adjustments. I use 1 can cream celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. I also cut back on the onion a bit and saute them with a little EVO and garlic to soften before adding. I also add some parmesan to the mix or cheese blend. Then I put it in a dish and top with some bread crumbs and more cheese and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes until bread crumbs are browned. We love this recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I served this as a side dish with our Thanksgiving dinner and it stole the show. I did alter the recipe by adding 1 cup of shredded mozz. cheese right before taking the dish off of the stove. Great dish, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
a dash of worchestershire, hot red pepper flakes and celery salt help this recipe. To squeeze dry thawed spinach, use your potato ricer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A terrific, easy and lower calorie version of a favorite! I prepared as directed(used low sodium, low fat soup) but added a bit of grated parmesan to the mix, topped with cheese and bread crumb, and baked with my pork tenderloin for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was delicious and really did taste gourmet. Was a snap to make. I used real garlic and added a dash nutmeg like the "pros". Served it with the infamous pork chop recipe from this site and got rave reviews on the meal on this cold night. It hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Delush! I didn't have the cream of celery soup, so used cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic and omitted the minced garlic. It was great! My 11 year old son asked if he could have it for breakfast. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This turned out perfect! I followed the recipe ingredients to the T but have to admit to a change in preparation. I decided to saute the onions, garlic and spinach in a small frying pan with a bit of olive oil. In another saucepan I mixed the rest of the ingredients. I had absolutely no problem with the water in the spinach as it cooked out. When the onions were softened, I just added the soup mixture in. I topped it with some parm cheese when served and my family raved! This was a wonderful creamed spinach! (I just got back from London where they served creamed spinach on a burger with chili-Delicious! I plan to try this on my next burger!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States