Family's Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This turned out perfect! I followed the recipe ingredients to the T but have to admit to a change in preparation. I decided to saute the onions, garlic and spinach in a small frying pan with a bit of olive oil. In another saucepan I mixed the rest of the ingredients. I had absolutely no problem with the water in the spinach as it cooked out. When the onions were softened, I just added the soup mixture in. I topped it with some parm cheese when served and my family raved! This was a wonderful creamed spinach! (I just got back from London where they served creamed spinach on a burger with chili-Delicious! I plan to try this on my next burger!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Don't use canned spinach! Usually I can alter ingredients a little, and still get good results, but not with this one. It turned out bland, the onions were still a little firm, even though I cooked it for over 30 mins. Will use fresh next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I agree with some of the others that this was too bland. I always take a little bite as I go along and knew that I needed to do something to make this side more exciting. In addition to adding more spices, I made a roux using fat free half and half and added in some parm. What a difference it made. Topped it off with more parm and a bit of paprika. Ended up making this in the morning and just popping it in the oven later on. Good start tho and thanks! BTW RogerBerry, please let me compliment you on your advice about using your potato ricer to squeeze out the spinach. I've been struggling with trying to squeeze the water out of spinach for YEARS and never once thought of the ricer. You're a genious man! I'll be posting this helpful hint on my OurTableTalk.com forum for my friends to see. Thanks so much and I can't even begin to tell you how much time I saved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was so easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed. The kids however are another story but it is a green vegetable. :O) Followed directions as written. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a nice little weeknight sidedish. I only used one package of frozen spinach and, with the full amount of sauce called for, that seemed to come out about right. I replaced the garlic salt with granulated garlic and omitted the salt altogether (there was plenty of salt from the canned soup). I also microwaved my chopped onions for 2-3 minutes to give them a headstart. Served with Brown Sugar Meatloaf, sliced fresh tomatoes, and sticky rice. Thanks for the nice side dish recipe, Utopia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used lowfat Cream of Celery & halved the amount to reduce the sodium. I used olive oil rather than butter and carmelized the onions then added the soup. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made it with three bags of fresh spinach, and I added a bit more flour and evaporated milk to stretch it. I also added some shredded 4 cheese blend that I had in the house. It doesnt get any easier! You can't tell canned soup was made, it tastes better than my friend's traditional creameed spinach made with cream and bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
The taste was great... the texture was terrible. My boyfriend would not even take my word that it really tasted OK because it was sooo slimy in appearance. Did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Excellent and SO EASY! My kids loved it, and so did my husband. I added Parmasean as suggested and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States