Family's Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This recipe was okay. I liked it, but the soup flavor was a little strong for my kids. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Had to variate a bit as I had no cream of celery soup. I sauteed lots of garlic in butter then added cream. I put this in wilted spinach, mixed them up and added parmesan cheese. While hot, I added grated mozarella.....yummy! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I just made this recipe for my family. I didn't change anything...I followed the recipe as it was written. I received compliments from the whole family. What a great recipe...thank you for sharing this! It is a recipe you can play with to suit your own taste (add cheese, more or less salt, more or less pepper, a different kind of creamed soup, etc.) but the "bare bones" recipe is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was yummy! My husband and I loved it - I used cream of mushroom instead, and I also sauteed some onions in olive oil first; then added butter and flour to make a roux. It was easy and tasty - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Based on other reviewer's here are my changes that worked out great. 1. Saute in olive oil the onion, garlic and spinach (fresh). 2. Make a roux using the 4 tbspn butter and some flour 3. Add roux to spinach 4. add cream of celery to spinach 5. add 1/2 cup parmesan cheese Tastes Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Yummy. I used fresh spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe! Perfect combination of flavors! I omitted the onion and 1/2 cup of milk ..very creamy and good! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Incredibly quick and easy to make, and tasted as good as you'd get at any steakhouse. Perfect complement for steak or chicken - A+. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OohLaLaLizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I love this easy recipe! I make a few small adjustments. I use 1 can cream celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. I also cut back on the onion a bit and saute them with a little EVO and garlic to soften before adding. I also add some parmesan to the mix or cheese blend. Then I put it in a dish and top with some bread crumbs and more cheese and bake at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes until bread crumbs are browned. We love this recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This turned out perfect! I followed the recipe ingredients to the T but have to admit to a change in preparation. I decided to saute the onions, garlic and spinach in a small frying pan with a bit of olive oil. In another saucepan I mixed the rest of the ingredients. I had absolutely no problem with the water in the spinach as it cooked out. When the onions were softened, I just added the soup mixture in. I topped it with some parm cheese when served and my family raved! This was a wonderful creamed spinach! (I just got back from London where they served creamed spinach on a burger with chili-Delicious! I plan to try this on my next burger!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States