Family Favorite Chicken Lo Mein Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and found it very soupy. The sauce never thickened. I think 1 1/2 cup broth is way too much. And I agree, too many noodles. It also resembles nothing you would find in a Chinese restaurant, which was what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This didn't work out for us. I make dishes like this a lot and black bean and garlic sauce is a staple in my pantry. I think the 3 tablespoons was a little much. I LOVE the stuff, but thought this dish was too salty. I even left out the soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very easy recipe! Easy to change things up and still get good results. I added a bit more Sesame Oil than called for and bought actual lo mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Good stuff - everyone enjoyed it.. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Added more veggies and it just wasn't very flavourful or worth the time and effort. Always on a quest for a good stir-fry and quick meals and this doesn't make the list. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
We thought this was pretty good. It's definitely great for a weeknight meal, quick and tasty. I did use a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and found it to have zero flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
i am rating this a five because i don't want others to shy away from this recipe. if there were more votes than i would rate it a four. this was really good! i was nervous by how little ingredients it called for but i was shocked to find it very flavorful. i only used a half box of pasta like others suggested and i am glad i did. the broth to pasta ratio was spot on. i didn't have black bean and garlic sauce (could not find it anywhere!!) so i used oyster sauce instead. great recipe that i will make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
A tasty and easy dish. I love veggies so added fresh sliced mushrooms, white onion & green bell pepper. I sliced my carrot as opposed to shredding them, cooked them a bit longer than the other veggies. I used linguine as I was out of Angel hair pasta. Also did not have Chinese black bean and garlic sauce, so just tossed in approximately 3 tsp of chopped garlic. I marinated the chicken in Teriyaki sauce prior to cooking. I only used half the amount of pasta called for, but the same amount of broth. This ratio of broth to pasta was perfect. I will make this recipe again with the following changes double the amount of sauce, add a larger variety of veggies, use Teriyaki chicken & chopped garlic. Overall, a lovely basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
a very adaptable recipe. i did not have black bean sauce so i used oyster sauce in it's place. i doubled the sauce and used a whole box of pasta with double the veggies. i had 3 very large boneless skinless chicken breasts as well. this way we had lots of leftovers for work lunches. you could use any veggies you have on hand and add shrimp in the chickens place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States