Family Favorite Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made this apple crisp today and it was delicious, but if and when I make it again I will cut the salt in half. It was a little too salty for my taste. Most recipes call for a pinch of salt so I wondered why a whole teaspoon full of salt, and when I tasted it I could definitely taste the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Loved this recipe. I made it exactly as described using Cortland apples. The apples turned out just right after 30 minutes - melt in my mouth. And the crumble was perfect. I like this recipe because the salt and lemon juice add a little more umph than my old recipe without. And there's less butter called for in this recipe. Less fat = more apple crumble in my belly. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sagittaloha
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this recipe for our department luncheon dessert and it got rave reviews! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out delicious. I used Granny Smith apples as per the Cook's note. Very simple and easy recipe. It didn't take too long to bake also. This is a keeper! It's stored in the Recipe Box for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I didn't mean to make any changes, but realized after I had all the apples cut up that I was short on butter. I mixed about three tablespoons of coconut oil in as a substitute (in addition to the butter I had on hand), and my family raved about it. They loved both the taste, and the smell while it was cooking. (I used a combination of Honeycrisp and Granny Smith apples.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Oh my yumminess ! This is delish. Found my new favorite apple crisp recipe! Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So easy to make and so good. I wasn't sure how much 3 pounds was so I used about 8 1/2cups sliced cortland apples and it seemed just right to me. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
this Apple crisp recipe with delicious! I made no changes at all. unfortunately, We ate it before I could take a picture. Lol sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is delicious as is - no changes needed. Next time I'll add some chopped walnuts to the topping for a little extra crunch but otherwise a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Yes, very good basic apple crisp as is. I cut down the brown sugar - but I generally reduce the sweetness on everything. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is a great crumble! Really easy to make, the whole family enjoyed it. Next time I need to make a crumble I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States