Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by samrah_521
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
My family loved this:) however I made quite a few changes. I added cream of mushroom soup instead as well as chicken bouillons to substitute the chicken broth. Also, I put in a brown rice and quinoa mix to make it a little healthier. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Even my son who hates broccoli loves this recipe! We all love it and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a terrific basic recipe for weeknights. Its easy to add a few little odds and ends in when they are available. Tonight this used up nearly every left-over in my refrigerator, and everyone commented on how good the house smelled while it cooked. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
P really liked this. I think I would have been happier with cream of chicken soup instead of (or even in addition to) celery soup, but it was fine as is. I did substitute a little because of what I had on hand. No mushrooms, 8 oz of water chestnuts instead of 5, and one bonus carrot just for the fun of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious.....my family loved it. Keep asking for some more. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Everything about this recipe cried out "Fantastic! Why didn't I think of that?" I used 4c. cubed chicken breast for my meat-loving family, fresh cooked broccoli, no mushrooms (just didn't seem to "go") or water chestnuts, then added 3/4 c. plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 c. total chicken broth (because it was dry, as other reviewers noted). I did NOT add extra cheese, as I have been trying to cut back on fat in my cooking. Well, long story short, the dish was pretty bland and disappointing, especially after all that prep. I think I've narrowed the problem down to the chicken. There was so much of it and it was unseasoned. And fresh garlic is the missing ingredient. I'm giving 4 stars because the recipe has so much promise - but it ain't there yet, in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Would need to change it a bit. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a great take on a recipe my mom used to make, only she did it sans broccoli and celery. I loved the addition of the veggies, but I did leave out the mushrooms and water chestnuts. We thought it was delicious, my only complaint was that it could have used more spices. Next time I will definitely up the garlic, pepper, salt, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I will make this again. I was worried that it would be mushy...but the texture of the dish was great and even my picky non-broccoli eating teen liked it. The water chestnuts added a nice crunch. The reason I gave it a 3 is because I'm not sure I would have liked it if I had not modified it. Modifications below: - reduced butter to 1 tablespoon and added water to browning pan as needed - used 2 cans cream of chicken instead of the 1 can cream of celery that was called for - used 1 cup of brown rice cooked in chicken broth...netted out with more than 2 cups of rice I'm sure - doubled the cheddar cheese - added 1/2 cup of chuncked velvetta cheese (this left small pockets of creamy cheese to be discovered - yum) - used fresh mushrooms - added 2 tablespoons of minced garlic - added 1 chopped green pepper - topped with crushed corn flakes 10 mins before baking was complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is a keeper! I used fresh broccoli and mushrooms and followed everything else. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States