Family Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My family really enjoyed this, will make it a regular at our house. I used broccoli cheese soup instead of cream of celery and omitted the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I use a very similar recipe by Paula Deen. Love to make this for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Good comfort food. I added 1 tbsp dijon mustard to the casserole before baking as previous readers said it was bland. Hubby & I both enjoyed. Will make again. Would also be great with any cream soup - chicken, broccoli or mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I don't agree with all the rave reviews for this recipe has received. I used one can of cream of celery and one can cream of mushroom (many reviewers agreed the dish was dry) and I can't imagine it with only one can of soup. The taste was very bland and though my husband and I ate the meal we won't be making it again as it didn't have much flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I took the advice of others and added 2 cans of soup (1 cream of celery and 1 cream of mushroom). I also omitted the water chestnuts. My only complaint is that this recipe required quite a bit of prep work. Overall, very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Leftovers were great for lunch. I used leftover rice from Chinese food the night before and it worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Very good, used fresh cooked broccoli and mushrooms. Only change I would make would be to add some almonds for some extra crunch, it would just finish it off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't sure how it would all taste together, but it was a hit with both my husband and 7 y.o. We prefer it with a little extra cheese (especially the 7 year old) and next time I will shred the chicken before putting it in the casserole as it seemed a little dry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Boring. I made this with a few substitutes - had to use mixed veggies instead of broccoli, used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of celery instead of the only one can of soup called for in the recipe, and used a corn flake topping moistened with some margarine. First of all, I cannot imagine making this with only one can of soup - it would have been much too dry. I had to also use much more cheese than the recipe called for, and it still was not enough. I just wasn't a fan of this recipe. My kids and husband thought it was ok, but I will not be making it again. I was looking for something to do with some leftover chicken when I came across this recipe, but it was just boring. It was sort of like chicken a la king all mixed together. I guess I just don't agree with the high ratings the other reviewers have given this recipe. By no means am I picky or a gourmet, but I still was just not a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Sorry, but this was not a winner in our house. It seemed to need more rice & soup, and less broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States