False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I too modified this recipe and actually got an idea or two from another allrecipe entry "Cabbage Jambalaya." Along with the onion and meat, I added two chopped garlic cloves. I used one can of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato sauce that had the Italian spices in it. In addition, I put in about 1/2 teaspoon each of Italian seasons, basil and oregano. I also added one cup of minute rice when I added in the tomatoes. With these changes we had a most excellent meal--both my husband and daughter went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
My husband loved this recipe, he called it "a definite keeper". Of course the kids wouldn't go near it, but what kid screams for cabbage??? I added salt, pepper, thyme and a bayleaf. Without the addition of these spices, I think it would have been a little bland. Served it over rice, and it was excellent!! Even better the next day. And much easier than rolling all that cabbage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This turned out quite well. I did change a few things. I took heed of others advice....I added 1 can of tomato sauce, omitted 1 can of soup. I added seasoning..it needed it, I think.(Basil, oregano, garlic). I also did NOT add the sour cream. I didn't think it needed it. I also added one small can of tomato paste. My kids, both of whom had never eaten cabbage before, said they loved it. So, that is a good sign!!! I will make this again. The pot was huge...I had enough for leftovers!!!! Wooooohooooooo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was much easier than making cabbage rolls and tasted pretty close to the real thing. I also used one can of diced tomatoes instead of one of the cans of soup. I put white rice in the bottom of a soup bowl and put the cabbage mixture on top. We also sprinkled with parm cheese. The next day for lunch we mixed the rice and cabbage mixture together and re-heated...even better the next day! Great alternative to cabbage rolls when you don't want to do all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
taste as good as my home made recipe that I stuff the cabbage leaves but so much easier & faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Eeyore
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
What a GREAT idea! I've been making cabbage rolls for years, but never thought to make them this way. It's sooooo much easier!.... I made a few changes to the recipe and it came out tasting almost exactly like my regular cabbage rolls. Here are the changes I made: I used 1-1/2 pounds of ground beef to make it a little meatier. I used 1 (15.2 oz "value size") can of tomato soup, 1 (15 oz) can of tomato sauce and NO water. I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes. I boiled the sliced cabbage for about 5 minutes before adding it to the meat/onion/tomato mixture to help speed up the cooking time (and to help it all fit in my electric skillet). For seasonings I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I didn't add the sour cream. I had some leftover cooked rice in the fridge, so right before serving I stirred in about a cup of that and heated it through. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Turned out more like a soup and I needed to add extra spices. I enjoyed it and will make it again, my husband wasn't crazy about it. It did freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I love cabbage rolls but not the work so, that being said, I like this recipe very much. A couple of things . . . I doubled the meat and the tomato soup, did not use the sour cream. Without doubling the meat, it was too much like soup. The only real problem is that the cabbage takes much longer to cook than the recipe calls for - it took at least an hour of simmering to get the cabbage tender enough. All-in-all, a very easy and tasty recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I made this today, and loved it. I'm counting points and this is a great low-fat recipe. I used 93% lean, added italian seasoning, used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, one can of soup and substituted the sour cream for non-fat yogurt. Again, this turned out great, but it does take at least an hour to soften the cabbage. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My husband loved this recipe. He said it tasted like his mom's cabbage rolls (with a lot less work). Instead of serving with rice I added the rice to the recipe and used tomato sauce instead of soup. I also increased the sauce a little since I added the rice. My family has asked for this again already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States