False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
My husband loved this recipe, he called it "a definite keeper". Of course the kids wouldn't go near it, but what kid screams for cabbage??? I added salt, pepper, thyme and a bayleaf. Without the addition of these spices, I think it would have been a little bland. Served it over rice, and it was excellent!! Even better the next day. And much easier than rolling all that cabbage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
Quick and hearty. Husband enjoyed it more the second day and I enjoyed it for lunch for three days later. I added a can of stewed tomatoes and it did make it bland out a bit. Next time I will not use the tomatoes and maybe add course black pepper to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I used to cook something like this, but without tomato sauce and adding rice already to the mixture. this time I tried it out like CarolynT advises except the tomato sauce and it was very good, although it definitely needed some more spices added for more taste. thanks for new ideas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This was easy to prepare, my son wouldn't eat it. My husband and I both liked it, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I enjoyed this, but the rest of my family was luke warm on it. I added extra seasonings to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Turned out more like a soup and I needed to add extra spices. I enjoyed it and will make it again, my husband wasn't crazy about it. It did freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
taste as good as my home made recipe that I stuff the cabbage leaves but so much easier & faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This was a lot easier to make then the real cabbage rolls. I didn't use the soup, instead I used tomato paste and 2 cups of water. I also used a cup of sour kraut. I kind of made it like lasagna. I put the cabbage on the bottom sour kraut on top of that then the meat mixture then the tomato paste on top of that and then put sliced kilbasa on top. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This is a GREAT substitute for cabbage rolls! I added three cloves of garlic, chopped. Also, the recipe is unclear about the amount of water. I added two soup cans, and had to thicken with cornstarch. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States