False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
this was pretty good and easy to make. not the most attractive looking dish but good for an inexpensive meal that will give lots of leftovers. much easier than making cabbage rolls and the flavour is definitely there. i also added garlic, substituted a can of tomatoes for a can of soup, a couple of slices of bacon, and some red pepper flakes and worchestershire sauce. i omitted the water as the juice from the canned tomatoes gave enough liquid. i would've given this 4 stars if i didn't have to add all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I made this last night. My husband really liked it. I liked it too but thought it was a little bland. I will add spices next time I make it. It is a very easy and cheap meal. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Easy to make recipe & tastes so good. I omit the sour cream but add a jar of tomatoe sauce & a cup of rice. *Thanks Carolyn T. for a great tasting dish*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cecil, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This was pretty good! My hubby, who's not a big cabbage fan, thought it was a keeper. I used one can of soup and one can of tomato sauce. Might try using the two cans of soup next time, could use a bit more spunk but would definitely make again. Served it over rice with a crusty loaf of bread,dipping the bread was half the fun! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This was a surprise to me, it really did turn out good, did not use the sour cream but did add more spices. Will make this again, it's just so much faster than trying to get the cabbage apart so you can make rolls out of it. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Isaacs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Excellent recipe. We like spicy, so I added some Texas Pete to the recipe also substituted ground venison for the ground burger. It was very easy & had exceptional flavor. It was a whole lot easier than cabbage rolls & just as yummy. Definately a 5-star recipe!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I think this is a delicious recipe! My family loves it. I haven't tried adding additional seasonings, as some have suggested, and I still think it is very tasty and flavorful. I have forgotten to add the sour cream at times, and it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This is my son't favorite meal. I have been making it for a couple of years. I usually make it exactly how it is written, except that I double it. Last winter I made it for my husband to take on a "guy's weekend" and everyone thinks he is married to the best cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I made this tonight using the 1/2 soup, 1/2 diced tomatoes. I added 1/4t dried basil, 1t sugar and some worchestershire sauce. I also added cooked rice to it at the end, as it was quite thin. It was still a bit bland, but I will make it again as it's hearty and healthy. We drizzled light sour cream on at the table and it seemed more like how we've been served this type of dish in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I tried this recipe tonight and my family enjoyed it. I did add minced garlic while browning the meat and about 1/2 tsp of dried basil. I think the recipe would have been a little boring without some extra seasoning. I only used half of a head of cabbage and that was quite sufficient. I also did not have sour cream on hand, but that didn't seem to take away from flavor. If anything, it was healthier. I served it with rice. My husband, who is a cabbage fan, loved this dinner and said I could make it again. All in all, a simple and quick dinner that my family enjoyed. Thanks Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States