False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This recipe sounded like a great way to simplify a family favorite. We love cabbage rolls, but it takes a lot of work to make them. When I make cabbage rolls I do not use sour cream or green pepper, so I'll leave them out. However I always add bottled chile sauce (not salsa) to my cabbage roll "gravy." I'd suggest starting with 1/2 of a 12oz bottle and adding more to taste. I also add a couple of shakes of crushed red pepper. These two additions should help to address some reviewers' comments that this recipe is good but too bland. Thanks for the time-saving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used one can of tomato soup and one quart of home-canned tomatoes (rather than the second can of soup). In place of the water, I used a small can of beef broth. While simmering the beef, I added the onion, celery, green pepper and garlic. YUM. I simmered it longer than called for. EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. Something I crave often. I like to add a little garlic salt and a little more sour cream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Made the recipe as stated. A little bland, but I couldn't exactly decide what would have made it better. My husband ended up putting a little hot sauce on it. Overall, everyone liked it and because it's so much easier than traditional cabbage rolls, I'll definitely make it again while adding a few twists. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
i tried this recipe earlier tonight and it came out AMAZING. i did add fresh garlic while browning the meat, only half an onion, as well as dried basil and thyme. i let it simmer for about 35min and it was perfect! i didn't use any sour cream, and served it up over white rice - although we both agreed that we like it better w/o the rice! This is one we'll be making again real soon, especially when winter rolls around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I added 2 cans of stewed tomatoes to this recipe, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My husband loves cabbage rolls, but once I served false cabbage rolls he said he likes this better. Whew!-a lot less work! I saute celery, garlic and green pepper with the onion and ground meat. I also sprinkle in some Tony's. I use 1 can of soup and 1 can of tomato sauce with 1/3 can water to rinse the sauce can plus the soup can of water. If I have a large head of cabbage, I only use half of it. This is so good and so easy! I sometimes add sliced zuchini, yellow squash, carrots and Italian seasonings. I do not add the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Very easy recipe. Had something similar at a company potluck a few weeks ago and went looking for a recipe. I did add green peppers and a few spices I had dried in my cabinet. I think it will make even better left over tomorrow Night. This hit the spot in my tummy and gets a 4 from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Sorry, this really didn't work for us. I thought it was OK, but hubby didn't like it at all. We'll try regular cabbage rolls next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My husband and I are huge cabbage fans. We added cracked black pepper to the recipe and served it over rice, came out great. It was even better the second day! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States