False Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I made this recipe and made a few additions. I added uncooked rice. I used ground pork and ground turkey instead of the beef. I did not add the sour cream but rather tomatoe juice and cooked it in my slow cooker for 6 hours. It almost tasted like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This is good. I think next time I will add some rice it was a little too saucy for me. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Very good comfort food. I used a can of italian tomatoes in place of a can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
too bland for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Very delicious and 4 year old liked it too! Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Very fast and easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
I too modified this recipe and actually got an idea or two from another allrecipe entry "Cabbage Jambalaya." Along with the onion and meat, I added two chopped garlic cloves. I used one can of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato sauce that had the Italian spices in it. In addition, I put in about 1/2 teaspoon each of Italian seasons, basil and oregano. I also added one cup of minute rice when I added in the tomatoes. With these changes we had a most excellent meal--both my husband and daughter went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOULTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was much easier than making cabbage rolls and tasted pretty close to the real thing. I also used one can of diced tomatoes instead of one of the cans of soup. I put white rice in the bottom of a soup bowl and put the cabbage mixture on top. We also sprinkled with parm cheese. The next day for lunch we mixed the rice and cabbage mixture together and re-heated...even better the next day! Great alternative to cabbage rolls when you don't want to do all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I've tried this both with and without the tomato sauce, and it's better with. Not as good as actual cabbage rolls, but good, and a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I made this today, and loved it. I'm counting points and this is a great low-fat recipe. I used 93% lean, added italian seasoning, used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, one can of soup and substituted the sour cream for non-fat yogurt. Again, this turned out great, but it does take at least an hour to soften the cabbage. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States