Fall Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This was a great holiday salad. However, I took the suggestion from other reviews and modified the recipe somewhat. I decreased the vinegar to 2 Tbsp and increased the sugar to 2 Tbsp. I used bagged mixed baby green and spinach and radicchio. Also my local market didn't have gongorzola cheese so I used feta. I tossed some dressing on greens then arranged on plate. I sprinkled nuts, cheese, and fanned pear slices on top. Finally I drizzled additional dressing on top. It got rave reviews from my luncheon guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This recipe is a good starting point. The cider vinegar is too strong so I switched and put rice vinegar in place of cider vinegar and then added 2 tablespoons of cider vinegar. I increased the sugar to 2 tablespoons and added 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice for zip. I increased the pears so each person got one half a pear. Asian pears also work if you can't find red anjou pears. I added red food coloring for a deeper color red salad dressing. For garnish I used halved cranberries and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I completely agree with those who (when using dried cranberries) eliminated the sugar. I also highly recommend using rice wine vinegar - I've made it twice, and the second (with the aforementioned vinegar) was far superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This was a really delicious salad. I prepared it for a dinner party I was throwing for my sister-in-law and everyone at the table raved about how great it taste and how nice it looked. I highly recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent dressing - I used half cider vinegar and half rice wine vinegar and used 2 Tbsp. of white sugar. I also added a couple drops of red food coloring to give the dressing more of that rich red cranberry look. I used a bagged spring mix, thin sliced red delicious apples, thin sliced red onions, dried cranberies and the toasted walnuts (350 for ten minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Most excellent! Although I left out the endive, and substituted Asian pears for Anjous, this salad was perfect. Second time I made it, I tossed in some left over turkey. MMMMM good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made this salad for Thanksgiving dinner. The salad was delicious and presented well. I didn't think that Belgian endive was anything special and other cheaper greens could be used in its place without jeopardizing the taste. However, I found that the dressing was overwhelmed by the vinegar. I did a lot of adjusting to get the right flavor. I would make the salad again but I would need to find an alternative dressing using the cranberries. The pink/red color of the dressing was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
The vinegar completely overwhelmed all the other tastes (way too much vinegar!). The concept of a cranberry dressing is nice, but you would probably need much less vinegar and more sugar. Also, it would probably be better to cut the pear in wedges instead of dicing - gives it a more gourmet texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
I was looking for something fresh to put on the table for Thanksgiving and this salad was simple and delicious. To serve, I fanned sliced pears in on the bed of greens and sprinkled with nuts and cheese, making a nice presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Used baby spinach instead of the lettuce mixture. I have also used this with bagged spring mix. I like the spinach better and will be serving this next week for a party. I did cut back a tad on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States