Fall Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
After reading the previous reviews...I knew that I needed to tweak this. I was asked to bring a salad for Thanksgiving (early). I had made a similar salad with a cranberry gorgonzola vinagrette that I was asked to bring again...that recipe is long gone. I used 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar, 2 T apple cider Vinegar. I substituted 1/4 cup plus 1 Tbls. Whole Berry Cranberry Sauce for the sugar & cranberries...I know...sugar+cranberries= cranberry sauce...it was fabulous...I liked the color and texture of the dressing better. Used dried cranberries in the salad itself. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great salad, I doubled up the dressing. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This one didn't quite hit the mark for me. The dressing is quite sweet, and I found that the combo of that with the pears was just too much. I used rice vinegar as others suggested. Dressing was good, but next time I'll omit the pears and add more savory ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
We love the combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was awesome! I made this and served it at my daughter-in-law to be's bridal shower. It was an absolute hit!!!! I had so many ladies asking for the recipe I finally just made a general announcement to the whole group of 35 where they could find it themselves. Just FYI... the shower theme was a "Perfect Pear" meaning that my son and his bride to be were a "perfect pair". And the are! ;-) So this recipe with it's use of pears was "perfect"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I only got as far as making the cranberry vinaigrette. There is far too much vinegar in this, that is all you can smell and taste. I started over with another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I scribbled down the recipe a few days ago and started making today then went back to read reviews. We like tart but I do have to agree that it's too much vinegar so I played with it. I added 1/4 cup more cranberries then a half cup water. Ended up with 3 T of sugar. Was still tart and tangy but good for us. I peeled my pear as the skin was rather tough, used romaine, red leaf, and a little spinach. Added some crasins. Will def make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Num num num num num! I'm a definite fan of this combination. I was unable to find cranberries so on a whim at the grocery store I picked up frozen whole blackberries instead--I used the same process for the dressing with only two additions: 1) as I heated the vinegar and berries I smashed the berries with a large plastic spoon, and 2) I added 2 more tsps of sugar for added sweetness. Thank you for this great combo of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Good salad. Definitely don't use cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent dressing - I used half cider vinegar and half rice wine vinegar and used 2 Tbsp. of white sugar. I also added a couple drops of red food coloring to give the dressing more of that rich red cranberry look. I used a bagged spring mix, thin sliced red delicious apples, thin sliced red onions, dried cranberies and the toasted walnuts (350 for ten minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States