Fall Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Made this for a baby shower - got rave reviews. The vinaigrette is pink so it worked well for a "baby girl" baby shower. Don't use too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This was a great holiday salad. However, I took the suggestion from other reviews and modified the recipe somewhat. I decreased the vinegar to 2 Tbsp and increased the sugar to 2 Tbsp. I used bagged mixed baby green and spinach and radicchio. Also my local market didn't have gongorzola cheese so I used feta. I tossed some dressing on greens then arranged on plate. I sprinkled nuts, cheese, and fanned pear slices on top. Finally I drizzled additional dressing on top. It got rave reviews from my luncheon guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Most excellent! Although I left out the endive, and substituted Asian pears for Anjous, this salad was perfect. Second time I made it, I tossed in some left over turkey. MMMMM good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Excellent! I served at Thanksgiving dinner and it was perfect! I prepared the dressing the day before and let it chill overnight. The gorgonzola really gives this salad a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This recipe is a good starting point. The cider vinegar is too strong so I switched and put rice vinegar in place of cider vinegar and then added 2 tablespoons of cider vinegar. I increased the sugar to 2 tablespoons and added 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice for zip. I increased the pears so each person got one half a pear. Asian pears also work if you can't find red anjou pears. I added red food coloring for a deeper color red salad dressing. For garnish I used halved cranberries and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
The vinegar completely overwhelmed all the other tastes (way too much vinegar!). The concept of a cranberry dressing is nice, but you would probably need much less vinegar and more sugar. Also, it would probably be better to cut the pear in wedges instead of dicing - gives it a more gourmet texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made this salad for Thanksgiving dinner. The salad was delicious and presented well. I didn't think that Belgian endive was anything special and other cheaper greens could be used in its place without jeopardizing the taste. However, I found that the dressing was overwhelmed by the vinegar. I did a lot of adjusting to get the right flavor. I would make the salad again but I would need to find an alternative dressing using the cranberries. The pink/red color of the dressing was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Maybe I did something wrong, but it was nothing special and the fruit was overwhelmed by the other tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This was a really delicious salad. I prepared it for a dinner party I was throwing for my sister-in-law and everyone at the table raved about how great it taste and how nice it looked. I highly recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
I was looking for something fresh to put on the table for Thanksgiving and this salad was simple and delicious. To serve, I fanned sliced pears in on the bed of greens and sprinkled with nuts and cheese, making a nice presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States