Fall Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I completely agree with those who (when using dried cranberries) eliminated the sugar. I also highly recommend using rice wine vinegar - I've made it twice, and the second (with the aforementioned vinegar) was far superior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This salad was awesome - the dressing totally makes it. I used pine nuts because I'm allergic to walnuts, and I could only find dried cranberries. If you use dried, ELIMINATE THE SUGAR in the recipe. The dried ones already have plenty - I happened to notice the sugar content so left the white sugar out figuring I could add it if I needed, but it was plenty sweet and just tart enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Loved it!! It is excellent with pork; it seems a bit rich for turkey, and a bit complex to serve alongside traditional Thanksgiving dishes. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but couldn't find fresh cranberries, so used canned whole gelled berries, and it seemed to work. I cooked the vinegar and berries a while to try to reduce the vinegar, as it did seem like a lot of vinegar. My husband and I thought all of the flavors melded well. I did reduce the amount of lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I followed previous advice and decreased the vinegar & sugar to 2 TBSP and thought the dressing was perfect - a little goes a long way. I served it on the side and the people who attempted the salad, thought it was delicious. We had it again last night leftover and it was still good. The dressing is a little strong - but compliments the pears well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good! The vinegar was a little too strong. I omitted the Gorgonzola cheese and added dried cranberries instead of pears. Instead of toasted walnuts I added glazed sugar almonds. Everyone enjoyed it on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
This is a very festive salad, but I agree with other reviewers who felt that the vinegar was overwhelming. Using the same amount of vinegar, but a less pungent variety (rice wine vinegar, for example) makes the taste a bit more forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Absolutely incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Everyone loved this salad. I think I will try blue cheese crumbles next time to give a little extra flavor. Cashews were interesting but other nuts will work also. Dressing was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
We loved this! The only thing I would've changed was to add carmelized walnuts instead. Yum, Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
it was tangy and sweet and so delish!! used it for my thanksgiving dinner. it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States